Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby gapan » 30. Apr 2011, 08:04

Salix Xfce 13.37 is close to being released! These are RC1 images, they should receive some testing, make sure there are no bugs, so we can release them as stable in a few days. Very few things have changed since the beta3 release, which makes it very probable that we won't have to make an RC2. Here's the short list of changes since the beta3:
* slapt-update-service was replaced with salix-update-notifier (for real this time)
* Firefox has been upgraded to 4.0.1
* Sourcery has been upgraded to 0.4, with some very nice new features.
+ a few more minor package updates.

You can download the 32-bit and 64-bit image files from our sourceforge project page.

32-bit (size: 597MB, md5: 5b1ed14736071423ced46fcfd44363aa)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/salix/f ... o/download
64-bit (size: 584MB, md5: 29ea95775841f85ea1bd62e9cf20b9d0)
http://sourceforge.net/projects/salix/f ... o/download
Image
Image
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
 
Posts: 4235
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby pevsner » 30. Apr 2011, 15:00

The new Sourcery looks great gapan, nice having the live terminal output.
pevsner
 
Posts: 81
Joined: 12. Apr 2010, 16:08

Re: Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby hcl » 1. May 2011, 01:52

Hi,

I encountered 2 problems during installation.

First, the keyboard freezes at the first installer screen. The keyboard worked at the boot menu where I could use the up and down arrow to select between two options. After the system has boot up, the installer screen came up but the keyboard stopped responding. My keyboard is a Microsoft Natural Ergonomic Keyboard 4000. I was able to work around the problem by using a different keyboard (an old Dell keyboard) to do the install. I swapped the Microsoft keyboard back after the install was completed. The system appeared to work with the Microsoft keyboard with no further problem.

The symptom appears to be the same as this bug in the Debian installer: http://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugreport.cgi?bug=569740. I'm not saying it's the same bug, but it was what gave me the idea of using a different keyboard during installation.

Second, Lilo didn't work during install. I used the advance option because I wanted to install Lilo in the root partition rather than the MBR. The generated lilo.conf had an invalid line at line 6 which only had "boot =" with no device after the equal sign. Once I appended "/dev/sda7" to that line, I was able to install Lilo with no problem.

The system appears to be working very nicely now. Thanks a lot for all the hard work!
hcl
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 8. Jun 2010, 05:23

Re: Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby gapan » 2. May 2011, 20:35

@hcl,
is that a USB keyboard? Sometimes, there is an option you can switch in the system bios for "legacy" usb devices or something like that. Maybe playing with that would help.
Image
Image
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
 
Posts: 4235
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby mimosa » 2. May 2011, 21:04

I've just noticed a problem that's a variation on a familiar theme. Copying discs with Brasero works, but then when I eject the disc and insert another one to copy [EDIT: copy from], Brasero tells me the drive is busy. The only cure I've found is rebooting (though this time round, Brasero is perfectly happy if I do so with the disc already in the drive). I've tried unmounting from the commandline, ejecting from the desktop, making extra sure all relevant apps are closed, and making sure the disc is not mounted, (which Brasero appears not to like).

This is a mere annoyance but it's not quite the same behaviour I remember in 13.1 Reporting for information.
Last edited by mimosa on 2. May 2011, 22:27, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 2387
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02

Re: Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby gapan » 2. May 2011, 21:37

mimosa wrote:I've just noticed a problem that's a variation on a familiar theme. Copying discs with Brasero works, but then when I eject the disc and insert another one to copy, Brasero tells me the drive is busy. The only cure I've found is rebooting (though this time round, Brasero is perfectly happy if I do so with the disc already in the drive). I've tried unmounting from the commandline, ejecting from the desktop, making extra sure all relevant apps are closed, and making sure the disc is not mounted, (which Brasero appears not to like).

This is a mere annoyance but it's not quite the same behaviour I remember in 13.1 Reporting for information.

Does xfburn work correctly? Anyone else experiencing this?
Image
Image
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
 
Posts: 4235
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby mimosa » 2. May 2011, 22:08

Just installed xfburn, which seems not to have the functionality to make an iso copy of a physical disk (or another physical copy, but that's basically the same task followed by a burn).

SimpleBurn tells me "No iso9660 formatted disk in drive" - I tried with the disk both unmounted and mounted.

I haven't tried with console apps - after all, rebooting does the trick. However, my impression is that this is a mounting issue somehow related to Brasero's preference for unmounted disks, which caused somewhat similar problems in earlier releases. Ultimately I think the console is the way forward, but that's not the point.
User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 2387
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02

Re: Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby hcl » 3. May 2011, 04:36

gapan wrote:@hcl,
is that a USB keyboard? Sometimes, there is an option you can switch in the system bios for "legacy" usb devices or something like that. Maybe playing with that would help.

Yes, it is a USB keyboard. My motherboard's BIOS does not have that option so I cannot try it.
hcl
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 8. Jun 2010, 05:23

Re: Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby gapan » 3. May 2011, 07:54

hcl wrote:
gapan wrote:@hcl,
is that a USB keyboard? Sometimes, there is an option you can switch in the system bios for "legacy" usb devices or something like that. Maybe playing with that would help.

Yes, it is a USB keyboard. My motherboard's BIOS does not have that option so I cannot try it.

It's probably the same bug as the one in debian that you found. Some extra module probably needs to be loaded for the keyboard to work and that is not present in the installation medium. Can you find out which module that is? If you can't, start your PC using the installed salix and having the usb keyboard connected and post the output of lsmod (as root). Then shutdown, swap keyboards, start again and post the output of lsmod again. We could probably include the module in the installation, once we know which one it is.
Image
Image
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
 
Posts: 4235
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix Xfce 13.37RC1

Postby hcl » 3. May 2011, 08:47

Looks like it's hid_microsoft (http://cateee.net/lkddb/web-lkddb/HID_MICROSOFT.html).

Here's the lsmod output with the Microsoft USB keyboard connected:
Code: Select all
Module                  Size  Used by
snd_seq_dummy           1479  0
snd_seq_oss            30116  0
snd_seq_midi_event      5708  1 snd_seq_oss
snd_seq                52486  5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi_event
snd_seq_device          5473  3 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq
snd_pcm_oss            40089  0
snd_mixer_oss          17282  2 snd_pcm_oss
ipv6                  275315  24
lp                      9781  0
fuse                   66651  3
joydev                 10279  0
radeon                906280  2
ttm                    52981  1 radeon
drm_kms_helper         27035  1 radeon
hid_microsoft           3011  0
usbhid                 36859  0
hid                    77723  2 hid_microsoft,usbhid
processor              25982  2
firewire_ohci          27301  0
r8169                  37529  0
intel_agp              10824  0
drm                   177345  4 radeon,ttm,drm_kms_helper
i2c_i801                8230  0
firewire_core          51107  1 firewire_ohci
mii                     3906  1 r8169
psmouse                47222  0
intel_gtt              14862  1 intel_agp
thermal_sys            13862  1 processor
i2c_algo_bit            5055  1 radeon
button                  5013  0
ppdev                   6021  0
i2c_core               19769  5 radeon,drm_kms_helper,drm,i2c_i801,i2c_algo_bit
rtc_cmos                9374  0
agpgart                28874  4 ttm,intel_agp,drm,intel_gtt
serio_raw               4534  0
parport_pc             21214  1
rtc_core               14471  1 rtc_cmos
parport                30087  3 lp,ppdev,parport_pc
hwmon                   1473  2 radeon,thermal_sys
rtc_lib                 1978  1 rtc_core
snd_hda_codec_hdmi     22985  1
evdev                   9813  11
shpchp                 26821  0
snd_hda_codec_realtek   293594  1
snd_hda_intel          21915  3
snd_hda_codec          71748  3 snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel
snd_hwdep               6254  1 snd_hda_codec
snd_pcm                73762  4 snd_pcm_oss,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec
snd_timer              19671  2 snd_seq,snd_pcm
snd                    58334  16 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq,snd_seq_device,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_hda_codec_hdmi,snd_hda_codec_realtek,snd_hda_intel,snd_hda_codec,snd_hwdep,snd_pcm,snd_timer
soundcore               5681  2 snd
snd_page_alloc          7297  2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm
sg                     26495  0
hcl
 
Posts: 8
Joined: 8. Jun 2010, 05:23

Next

Return to Announcements