Testing Salix and liking it.

Introduce yourself, create test postings or talk nonsense
eight.bit.al

Testing Salix and liking it.

Post by eight.bit.al »

Light and responsive, I'm liking Salix more by the minute.

Long time computer user; 1967, punch cards and Mylar tape.
Addicted, serial distro-hopper.

8bit
galmei

Re: Testing Salix and liking it.

Post by galmei »

A warm welcome to you!
eight.bit.al wrote: 3. Nov 2022, 02:23 Long time computer user; 1967, punch cards and Mylar tape.
I can't quite keep up with that.
As a student, I used the IBM 029/129 punch (cardboard cards) in the beginning, then in advanced studies I used the
the IBM 3215 console printer with attached keyboard and input/output via paper tape.
An IBM System/360 was fed with it.

All so long ago that it is no longer true. Good that there is now Salix!
Not that anyone thinks I'm old, back then I could still walk upright under tables with ease.

galmei
Papasot
Donor

Post by Papasot »

eight.bit.al wrote: 3. Nov 2022, 02:23Long time computer user; 1967, punch cards and Mylar tape.
Addicted, serial distro-hopper.
Welcome, eight.bit.al (the future was 8-bit, afterall.) ;)
I have a feeling you might quit being a serial distro-hopper now (that "serial" was so funny.) :D
Beware though: Salix is rock-solid stable, so if you enjoy some "adventure" every time to turn on your computer (risk of something is not working all of the sudden,) you won't find any of that here. I use Salix for several years, and it never disappointed me: it will work as expected until your hardware dies.