gnuchess - xboard has blank window which then hangs

You think you have found a bug? Let us know about it.

gnuchess - xboard has blank window which then hangs

Postby mknoop01 » 8. Aug 2017, 02:00

When I try to use the xboard program, which is included with the gnuchess package, I get a blank window which just hangs. It will not close normally and has to be forced to close.
Now, this is strange especially because this is a slackware package. It was included in the initial install of my slackware system, and it works fine there. I added it to my salix system after the install, and xboard does not work. I have tried running ldd on the xboard executable file, but I do not see any unresolved library calls listed, unless I missed it.
Are there some missing package dependencies?.

Strange.
mknoop01
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 6. Aug 2017, 13:42

Re: gnuchess - xboard has blank window which then hangs

Postby mimosa » 8. Aug 2017, 08:17

It very likely is a missing dependency, because the way Slackware makes up for not having dependency resolution is by including the "kitchen sink" in a standard installation, which Salix does not.

Please report it if you find what is missing.

It may be worth running depfinder on the package file, and comparing the output with the .dep file. Anything it finds should already have been included, though - but it is possible you have somehow inadvertently removed it.
User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 2874
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02

Re: gnuchess - xboard has blank window which then hangs

Postby laprjns » 8. Aug 2017, 09:57

I just installed it using spi. spi didn't install any additional dependencies Runs fine here. Try running xboard from a terminal and see if it throws any error messages
User avatar
laprjns
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 974
Joined: 28. Aug 2009, 01:30
Location: Connecticut USA

Re: gnuchess - xboard has blank window which then hangs

Postby mknoop01 » 8. Aug 2017, 19:17

Okay. It was something to do with my ~/.xboardrc file. I move it to a different name, and then xboard ran fine and created a new .xboardrc file.

Thank you all for your time. It was probably something I did myself late at night and forgot I did it.
mknoop01
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 6. Aug 2017, 13:42


Return to Bugs