No PulseAudio daemon running

You have a problem with Salix? Post here and we'll do what we can to help.

No PulseAudio daemon running

Postby tuongtndg » 6. Dec 2017, 02:06

This is wierd. I can't get audio when I switch to an i3 session. But it works under xfce. Same user, I just change window managers and I lose sound. I've been searching the 'net for a solution and nothing has helped. :?:

Even stranger is the output I get. I start pulseaudio, get a decent status, open a video to test it, and get no sound. This bit of code was all from within about a 5-minute span of time. :?:
Code: Select all
[~]$ pulseaudio -D --start
[~]$ pulseaudio-ctl full-status
100 no no
[~]$ pulseaudio-ctl full-status
No PulseAudio daemon running, or not running as session daemon.
tuongtndg
 
Posts: 1
Joined: 6. Dec 2017, 02:05

Re: No PulseAudio daemon running

Postby DidierSpaier » 6. Dec 2017, 07:22

Hello,

I never used i3, but why do you need to start pulseaudio manually?

In a standard installation /etc/rc.d/rc.pulseaudio does not need to be executable, but should be started automatically every time a client needs it (as a session daemon , as says pulseaudio-ctl)
DidierSpaier
 
Posts: 223
Joined: 20. Jun 2016, 20:15

Re: No PulseAudio daemon running

Postby gapan » 6. Dec 2017, 13:12

OK, first of all, there is no pulseaudio-ctl command. There never was. At least not by default. So if you're trying that, it will certainly not work. If you have it installed, I think it's only for controlling the volume, nothing more.

Now, as Didier said, do not have the pulseaudio service enabled. And use the start-pulseaudio-x11 script when you're starting your WM.
Image
Image
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
 
Posts: 5252
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: No PulseAudio daemon running

Postby mimosa » 7. Dec 2017, 12:20

gapan wrote:use the start-pulseaudio-x11 script when you're starting your WM.

Like this?
Code: Select all
mimosa[~]$ cat .xinitrc
#!/bin/sh

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/usr/lib/X11/xinit/.Xresources
sysmodmap=/usr/lib/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $sysresources
fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f $userresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $userresources
fi

if [ -f $usermodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $usermodmap
fi

# custom
setxkbmap brdk
stalonetray &
nm-applet &
salix-update-notifier &
blueman-applet &
start-pulseaudio-x11
# Start the window manager:
if [ -x /usr/bin/ck-launch-session ]; then
        LAUNCH="ck-launch-session"
else
        LAUNCH=""
fi
if [ -x /usr/bin/dbus-launch ]; then
        LAUNCH="$LAUNCH dbus-launch"
fi
exec $LAUNCH /usr/bin/ratpoison
User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 2876
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02

Re: No PulseAudio daemon running

Postby westms » 7. Dec 2017, 15:05

tuongtndg wrote:This is wierd. I can't get audio when I switch to an i3 session. But it works under xfce. Same user, I just change window managers and I lose sound. I've been searching the 'net for a solution and nothing has helped. :?:

The /etc/rc.d/rc.pulseaudio file is not sourced, and the pulseaudio call in it is parameterized differently with:
Code: Select all
/usr/bin/pulseaudio --system --disallow-module-loading 1> /dev/null 2> /dev/null &

than the pulseaudio call, which can be found in the kernel process table (first output line ):
Code: Select all
[~]$ ps ax | grep pulse
 1215 ?        Sl     0:00 /usr/bin/pulseaudio --start --log-target=syslog
 1233 ?        S      0:00 /usr/libexec/pulse/gconf-helper
 1263 ?        Sl     0:00 /usr/lib64/xfce4/panel/wrapper-2.0 /usr/lib64/xfce4/panel/plugins/libpulseaudio-plugin.so 25 12582958 pulseaudio PulseAudio Plugin Adjust the audio volume of the PulseAudio sound system
 1492 pts/0    S+     0:00 grep pulse
[~]$

The triggering call comes from /usr/bin/start-pulseaudio-x11, which for Xfce is in turn given
in /etc/xdg/autostart/pulseaudio.desktop for execution.

The only change I remember about PulseAudio is adding the Wrapper for the PulseAudio plugin to the panel. Used to control volume and signal sources. The process table entry for this shows (third output line) that the wrapper starts 'libpulseaudio-plugin.so' from the Xfce environment.

For other desktop environments, this process may need to be replicated.
westms
 
Posts: 292
Joined: 17. Mar 2013, 18:51


Return to Problems