Virtualbox 6.0 on 14.2-Hosted OS'es very slow

You have a problem with Salix? Post here and we'll do what we can to help.
Post Reply
User avatar
laplume
Donor
Posts: 341
Joined: 4. Sep 2010, 07:40
Location: (VI) Italy

Virtualbox 6.0 on 14.2-Hosted OS'es very slow

Post by laplume » 22. May 2020, 08:53

Hello All,
As the title says I have Virtualbox 6.0.14 installed on Salix 14.2 64 bit.
The laptop I am using has
4 x Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 540 @ 2.53GHz
and 4 Gigs of RAM, so it should be sufficient enough to host distros which don't have particular hardware requirements.
The weird thing is that Virtualbox let me select and run only 32bit systems (at least, by looking at the drill down menu when choosing a new VM). Moreover, once the OS is installed the virtualised system is extremely slow (trying to play any youtube video, even at the lowest resolution, gives a stuttering video and audio output, which is quite annoying.), making the system almost unusable (for most part of the try CPU is running at full speed).
Also, when setting up a new VM hardware acceleration has to be disabled form Virtualbox settings in order to be able to install the system.
I am clueless since on a desktop pc having similar hardware (with Ubuntu 16.04 on it) I can run both 32 and 64 bit distros with no fuss.
I guess this issue has to deal with something related to Virtualbox settings but really I cannot figure out how I can address it.
Any Help is welcome.
Thanks in advance for support.
Antonio

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5586
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Virtualbox 6.0 on 14.2-Hosted OS'es very slow

Post by gapan » 22. May 2020, 15:36

There is probably some option in your BIOS/UEFI that you need to switch on for virtualization to work properly.
Image
Image

User avatar
laplume
Donor
Posts: 341
Joined: 4. Sep 2010, 07:40
Location: (VI) Italy

Re: Virtualbox 6.0 on 14.2-Hosted OS'es very slow

Post by laplume » 22. May 2020, 17:47

Gapan,

As usual, you got it right! :D It was just a matter of changing the setting of CPU operation into the BIOS and now the VM runs flawlessly. Even the 64 bit systems now appear on the drill down list of VM options.
Thanks a bunch, that made my day :)
Regards,
Antonio

Post Reply