add a layout to keyboardsetup

You have a problem with Salix? Post here and we'll do what we can to help.
User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3311
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by mimosa »

Only for Salix 16.0 I presume!

Seriously though, qwerty is the Windows of keyboard layouts.
hugok
Posts: 373
Joined: 7. Dec 2011, 22:44
Location: Portugal
Contact:

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by hugok »

Hugo Carvalho
Portuguese translator

https://github.com/hugok79
User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3311
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by mimosa »

hugok wrote: 17. Aug 2022, 16:08 Maybe this will help... :roll:

https://www.kaufmann.no/roland/dvorak/linux.html
Thank you very much, that looks like a promising line of enquiry!
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 6238
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by gapan »

hugok wrote: 17. Aug 2022, 16:08 Maybe this will help... :roll:

https://www.kaufmann.no/roland/dvorak/linux.html
Oh that looks quite straight-forward!

mimosa, can you try this package? https://people.salixos.org/gapan/kbd-extra/
Install it and also add a line like this in your keymaps file:

Code: Select all

dvp|us|dvp|compose:102,numpad:shift3,kpdl:semi,keypad:atm,caps:shift
Image
Image
User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3311
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by mimosa »

Thanks gapan, that worked like a charm!

I have actually got better at qwerty after a certain amount of faffing about lately. But I can't remember where any of the symbols are. I really ought to learn it properly, I don't think it would "interfere" with Dvorak muscle memory.

Here is a plug for Dvorak, from the same place:
https://www.kaufmann.no/roland/dvorak/
Dvorak keyboards are mostly known for their ability to speed up typing. Along with this comes the usual crowd of naysayers that state that it hasn't been proved that Dvorak actually is faster that Qwerty. However, no-one has ever produced evidence that it is slower either. And they're really missing the point, too. It isn't about being faster, it is about being easier. Dvorak keyboards are easier because they have been designed so that the most common phrases are located nearer the base position of your fingers.

An ANSI Dvorak layout already exists, and your operating system probably comes with this installed. However, this layout has some serious problems when writing source code. The characters are in traditional Dvorak layout all right, but the symbols are put in the same hopeless locations as in the Qwerty layout!

Programmer Dvorak is a "sub"-layout which makes it easier to write source code in C, C#, Java, Pascal, Lisp, CSS, XML and alikes. It was generated through reflection of the most common constructs in these languages and the rules set forward by the August Dvorak in his research, then verified by scanning through thousands of source code lines ensuring that a good fit was found.
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 6238
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by gapan »

mimosa, what about these options?

Code: Select all

compose:102,numpad:shift3,kpdl:semi,keypad:atm,caps:shift
I guess they probably shouldn't be used by default, right?
Image
Image
User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3311
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by mimosa »

I'm not quite certain what those all do, but since they are as documented on the website, perhaps it would be ok to keep them? They are unlikely to perturb anyone who doesn't read that far down the page. And they do look useful, for typing accents and such. Now I know they are there, I will probably start using them. :mrgreen:
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 6238
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by gapan »

OK, I'll keep them then. Here's a complete list of options:

Code: Select all

man xkeyboard-config
Image
Image
User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3311
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by mimosa »

Thanks very much for this. It's a real treat for me to have this "exactly right".

I have been meaning, for years, to get to grips with keyboard layouts. Maybe now I finally will. I do now and again write emails in languages such as Portuguese, and I'm afraid now I'm not in Brazil, I generally just miss off the diacritics. The effect to anyone who knows the language is barbaric.
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 6238
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: add a layout to keyboardsetup

Post by gapan »

mimosa, I found this one, which looks much cleaner than the auto-generated one I made:
https://github.com/jiangmiao/dvp

Can you tell me if it works equally well? gzip the dvp.map file and replace the /usr/share/kbd/keymaps/i386/dvorak/dvp.map.gz file with it.
Image
Image
Post Reply