Screen resolution Change : How Do we run Xorg?

You have a problem with Salix? Post here and we'll do what we can to help.
Post Reply
Salix_gr
Posts: 9
Joined: 7. Nov 2010, 19:11

Screen resolution Change : How Do we run Xorg?

Post by Salix_gr » 8. Nov 2010, 18:45

:oops:
Ok Now I think I have a pretty silly question but I'm stuck
I 'm very very newbie
trying to change screen resolution that's been stuck to 800x600
as I have understood I have to go to command line and run "Xorg -configure"
but when I open a terminal as a root I take a message
__________________________________________________
root[~]# Xorg -configure
_XSERVTransSocketUNIXCreateListener: ...SocketCreateListener() failed
_XSERVTransMakeAllCOTSServerListeners: server already running

Fatal server error:
Cannot establish any listening sockets - Make sure an X server isn't already running

Please consult the The X.Org Foundation support
at http://wiki.x.org
for help.
Please also check the log file at "/var/log/Xorg.0.log" for additional information.
___________________________________________________________

How should I get to terminal without X server??
(my goal is just to get to 1024x768 or better 1360x768 resolution - nothing more :roll: :| )

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 6039
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Screen resolution Change : How Do we run Xorg?

Post by gapan » 8. Nov 2010, 19:19

What is your graphics card? Please provide the output of

Code: Select all

lspci
And post the output of

Code: Select all

xrandr
too.
Image
Image

Salix_gr
Posts: 9
Joined: 7. Nov 2010, 19:11

Re: Screen resolution Change : How Do we run Xorg?

Post by Salix_gr » 8. Nov 2010, 19:31

root[~]# lspci
00:00.0 Host bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 650/M650 Host (rev 01)
00:01.0 PCI bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] Virtual PCI-to-PCI bridge (AGP)
00:02.0 ISA bridge: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS962 [MuTIOL Media IO] (rev 04)
00:02.1 SMBus: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] SiS961/2 SMBus Controller
00:02.5 IDE interface: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 5513 [IDE]
00:02.7 Multimedia audio controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] AC'97 Sound Controller (rev a0)
00:03.0 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.1 Controller (rev 0f)
00:03.1 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.1 Controller (rev 0f)
00:03.2 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 1.1 Controller (rev 0f)
00:03.3 USB Controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] USB 2.0 Controller
00:0d.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL-8139/8139C/8139C+ (rev 10)
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Silicon Integrated Systems [SiS] 65x/M650/740 PCI/AGP VGA Display Adapter
________________
root[~]# xrandr
Screen 0: minimum 320 x 240, current 960 x 600, maximum 960 x 600
default connected 960x600+0+0 0mm x 0mm
960x600 60.0*
960x540 60.0
800x600 60.0 56.0
768x576 60.0
720x576 60.0
856x480 60.0
800x480 60.0
720x480 61.0
640x480 60.0
400x300 60.0
320x240 61.0
root[~]#
__________
the point is that the 960x600 is not supported by my monitor (It shows half the screen) so I have to turn to 800x600

Anyway the monitor supports both1024x768 as well as 1360x768 (I work these in other distros)
:?: :roll: but my main problem is that I haven't even realised yet how we get in command line (no GUI loaded) in salix [in order for me to run Xorg]

linus72
Posts: 79
Joined: 1. Dec 2009, 00:12

Re: Screen resolution Change : How Do we run Xorg?

Post by linus72 » 8. Nov 2010, 19:41

The dreaded and crappy SIS graphics....

I an offer you what I use in my own PC which has SIS graphics
as I use the Slax auto-x configure script which seems to work better than X -configure and such
http://multidistro.com/NFLUXNEW/autox.tar.gz

just put th files where they go, make /usr/bin/xconf executable with
chmod +x /usr/bin/xconf as root

then, run the command "xconf" as root in console
boot to runlevel 3, login and do "xconf" as root
to boot to runlevel 3 put a "3" in your grub.cfg or lilo.conf
or edit it at the boot menu
or temporarily edit /etc/inittab and change it from 4 to 3

after that it should try the highest res possible
if it doesn't work, back up your xorg.conf and try the vesa xorg.conf
as root, cp -r /etc/X11/xorg.conf-vesa /etc/X11/xorg.conf
then try startx,etc

Salix_gr
Posts: 9
Joined: 7. Nov 2010, 19:11

Re: Screen resolution Change : How Do we run Xorg?

Post by Salix_gr » 8. Nov 2010, 20:16

;)
As I said I am veryvery new in commandline
first contact with salix I had to figure out how to add a line in my GRUB :o
second thing the resolution
linus72 your post seemed absolutely ....greek to me at first (I am greek :shock: :P )
-xconf doesn't exist in /usr/bin
-grub / lilo I cant touch (I ....made it up just yesterday so... :P )

so I didnt have much choice >>> I did your third recommendation
cp -r /etc/X11/xorg.conf-vesa /etc/X11/xorg.conf

and VOILA at least I have 1024x768 :P :D

:( :?: should I suppose that the only way to get to" clear command line" is to play with run level in /etc/inittab ???
is n't there a way to start it as an option from boot menu?

ANYWAY MANY THANKS at least now I can see what I'm writing!!!!

linus72
Posts: 79
Joined: 1. Dec 2009, 00:12

Re: Screen resolution Change : How Do we run Xorg?

Post by linus72 » 8. Nov 2010, 20:29

oh the link I gave above contains xconf and the other stuff
download this: http://multidistro.com/NFLUXNEW/autox.tar.gz

extract it, put the files where they go as root
/etc/X11/gui.conf
/usr/bin/xconf

so, assuming you download that to your user's /home folder
open a terminal, become root and extract the .tar.gz and copy files to system

open a terminal and enter these commands

sudo su + your password
tar -xvzf autox.tar.gz
cd autox
cp -r usr/bin/xconf /usr/bin/
cp -r etc/X11/gui.conf /etc/x11/
chmod +x /usr/bin/xconf

now edit /etc/inittab to only boot to runlevel 3 so you can do xconf
where it says
# Default runlevel. (Do not set to 0 or 6)
id:3:initdefault:

change to "4"
# Default runlevel. (Do not set to 0 or 6)
id:4:initdefault:

then reboot and once you login as root, do "xconf"
then enter "gdm" to start GDM, login to desktop, and edit inittab again and change back to runlevel 4

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 6039
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Screen resolution Change : How Do we run Xorg?

Post by gapan » 8. Nov 2010, 22:42

@linus72

I haven't looked at your script, but some of your directions are certainly wrong and might confuse Salix_gr. For once, sudo su won't work, it only needs to be su. And you can log straight into init 3, if at the lilo prompt you hit the TAB key on the keyboard and type linux 3

Anyway, Salix_gr, one way to get the right size, would be to use xrandr to set it. You can run:

Code: Select all

xrandr --newmode "1360x768_60.00"  84.72  1360 1424 1568 1776  768 769 772 795  -HSync +Vsync
to create the mode you're looking for (don't change any of the numbers). FYI, I got that mode by running:

Code: Select all

gtf 1360 768 60
Then you can add that mode to your display:

Code: Select all

xrandr --addmode default "1360x768_60.00"
and select it

Code: Select all

xrandr --output default --mode "1360x768_60.00"
That should set the right size. But it will be reset if your system is restarted.
You can use the same modeline in your xorg.conf so that the change is permanent. Read this for more info on how to do that: http://www.freebsd.org/doc/handbook/x-config.html
Image
Image

Salix_gr
Posts: 9
Joined: 7. Nov 2010, 19:11

Re: Screen resolution Change : How Do we run Xorg?

Post by Salix_gr » 9. Nov 2010, 12:10

:) :) :D
thank you for all your guidance
sorry for not replying earlier but it was quite late for me
At the moment I am very satisfied with my 1024x768 resolution wont mess up more for now
anyway salix will be my secondary OS (and probably my liveUsb OS!!) I have to play around a lot and learn as soon as I have the time (PcLinux stays on my first partition)

Post Reply