cgdisk problem during install

You have a problem with Salix? Post here and we'll do what we can to help.
Kimdino
Donor

cgdisk problem during install

Post by Kimdino »

Hi folks,
I have been using Slackware for many years but liked the Salix additions so much (Sourcery is brilliant) that I added the Salix repository to my Slackware installation. As my old hard drive was showing signs of failing I bought a new 3TB drive and decided I might as well migrate my system fom Slackware 14 to a proper Salix syatem during the installation.

I always preconfigure a hard drive before installation as I like to the new system to boot into my previous Desktop settings, files & setup as much as possible. So, before starting the install I setup the partitions using GParted using my standard scheme i.e. sd?1 as ext4 for / (20Gb), sd?2 as linux-swap for swap (16Gb), sd?3 as ext4 for home (2.5Tb) & sd?4 as ext4 for opt (150Gb). As the drive was above 2.2Tb I found I was unable to use 'cfdisk' and so used GParted instead to get GPT capability.

After formatting I copied the files across from my 'home' and 'opt' partitions on to the new drive. This was all done with the new drive connected via a USB to SATA adapter. I then installed the new drive in place of my current drive. I then booted on to the Salix64 Xfce 14.2 DVD for the installation.

On reaching the partitioning stage I tried to tell the installer to continue with partitioning but couldn't as the installer insisted there was no valid Linux partition. So I tried the Setup Partition option. 'cgdisk' showed my partition map but described my partitions as 'Microsoft basic data'. (0700).