Persistence does not work for me.

You have a problem with Salix? Post here and we'll do what we can to help.
TheNewbiePro

Persistence does not work for me.

Post by TheNewbiePro »

I am a complete newbie to linux, but I wanted to try it. So after some experiments I decided to try salix linux as my pc is old and 32 bit version fits it perfectly.

But I want to try live version before installing, and to really experiment with it I need persistence, but it does not seem to work.

I created live usb from windows using some utility, during usb iso (32 bit live iso of salux 15) copying to usb stick the utility allowed to create a partition for persistence I have choosen 2gb.

After reboot salix loaded with no problem (I chose persistence option during the boot process), and everything works except saves are not there when I reboot whether it is a folder on a desktop or net settings.

On desktop there is persist icon when I click it it says that it is mounted, size is 2gb, but I cant save anything here. Properties of it say that only root can write here. But I googled that from version 15 it is impossible to login as root, and indeed when I try to switch user to root with password live it does not let me, sudo su in terminal works but does not help. Another search said there is persistence-wizard, but I could not find any nether in installed packeges nor in repisitories. Should I conclude that persist option is not supported in 32 bit salux linux 15, at least not out if the box.

Thanks for reading this question, sorry I could not make it shorter.
djemos
Salix Warrior

Re: Persistence does not work for me.

Post by djemos »

I created live usb from windows using some utility, during usb iso (32 bit live iso of salix 15) copying to usb stick the utility allowed to create a partition for persistence I have choosen 2gb.
Partition? You do not need any partition. Just use the install_on_usb.sh included in iso to create the persistent file.