Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby djemos » 29. Oct 2016, 16:58

Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1 is ready.

I hope no problems will be reported and this will be renamed to the final release.

If you want to transfer the live iso to a USB stick, make sure you read the instructions in this README.

If you choose to use ext3 filesystem for usb then do not create a persistent file. And boot with persistent. This is the easiest and fast option.
if you choose to use vfat then create a persistent file. It is also fast and usb can be used as linux live with persistence and as a common usb as well. This is my favorite option.

For live environment, standard user is “one” with password: "one"
User “one” is a super user. This is what you need to use applications need super user privileges.

You can also use the dd command to write the iso to a USB stick, but some features like persistence, will not be available.


You can download the iso images using the following links.

Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1 (32-bit, i686)
(size: 1020 MB, md5: 8301c1b34dac4f61e3b33fd17e2ee8f8)
Sourceforge: http://sourceforge.net/projects/salix/f ... o/download

Salix64 Live Xfce 14.2 rc1 (64-bit, x86_64)
(size: 1016 MB, md5: 926b503212825971d7d9b695bb132d9b)
Sourceforge: http://sourceforge.net/projects/salix/f ... o/download

Have fun.
Dimitris

screenshots
djemos
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 990
Joined: 29. Dec 2009, 13:45
Location: Greece

Re: Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby babam » 30. Oct 2016, 05:25

Kernel version?
Sorry, my English is bad.
babam
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 28. Oct 2015, 14:11

Re: Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby djemos » 30. Oct 2016, 06:06

babam wrote:Kernel version?

4.4.19
djemos
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 990
Joined: 29. Dec 2009, 13:45
Location: Greece

Re: Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby ikke » 30. Oct 2016, 09:06

djemos wrote:Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1 is ready.

I hope no problems will be reported and this will be renamed to the final release.

Thank you for providing this iso. Nice!

Again : can't you provide a bootcode to tell the system where it can find the '/boot/modules' directory? So I can do a frugal install my way ...

Thank you.
ikke
 
Posts: 258
Joined: 5. Feb 2010, 22:47

Re: Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby djemos » 30. Oct 2016, 09:32

I cannot understand what you are trying to do. Using the install_on_usb.sh script can do a frugal installation.
While booting system finds the /boot/modules and /boot/optional directories in device/boot/modules. Where device is e.g /dev/sdb or /dev/sr0 for cd/dvd
This device is mounted under /slroot/live/media/ while booting from init and modules that exist in /slroot/live/media/boot/modules/ are mounted under /slroot/live/modules/$modulename
I see no reason to change the default path. To make code more complex.
If you want to use your own created modules, (not other slackware based distro's modules, this will not work) put them in /boot/modules folder of usb or /boot/optional folder of usb.
and provide include=module1:module2:... boot parameter to load modules from /boot/optional folder.
Any modules that exist on /boot/modules folder will be loaded at boot unless if you provide the boot parameter exclude=module1:module2:... to exclude some modules from loaded at boot time.
More info can be found by reading the code on init
djemos
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 990
Joined: 29. Dec 2009, 13:45
Location: Greece

Re: Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby laprjns » 30. Oct 2016, 10:38

Slapt-srcrc is set to the SBo14.1 repo
User avatar
laprjns
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 960
Joined: 28. Aug 2009, 01:30
Location: Connecticut USA

Re: Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby djemos » 30. Oct 2016, 10:55

laprjns wrote:Slapt-srcrc is set to the SBo14.1 repo

Live iso use the same packages with salix-xfce installtion iso. Looking in the package http://download.salixos.org/x86_64/14.2 ... 64-2gv.txz
on repos the slapt-src.new file is not updated to 14.2
Code: Select all
BUILDDIR=/usr/src/slapt-src
PKGEXT=tgz
SOURCE=http://salix.hostingxtreme.com/slkbuild/14.1/
SOURCE=http://salix.hostingxtreme.com/sbo/14.1/

So either this has to be updated on repos or i have to manually edit the package and recreate the iso.
djemos
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 990
Joined: 29. Dec 2009, 13:45
Location: Greece

Re: Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby gapan » 30. Oct 2016, 11:45

djemos wrote:Live iso use the same packages with salix-xfce installtion iso. Looking in the package http://download.salixos.org/x86_64/14.2 ... 64-2gv.txz
on repos the slapt-src.new file is not updated to 14.2
Code: Select all
BUILDDIR=/usr/src/slapt-src
PKGEXT=tgz
SOURCE=http://salix.hostingxtreme.com/slkbuild/14.1/
SOURCE=http://salix.hostingxtreme.com/sbo/14.1/

So either this has to be updated on repos or i have to manually edit the package and recreate the iso.

Oops. Sorry about that. Nobody noticed in the standard iso, because we're always running reposetup and that sets the repositories to their proper target. I will upload updated slapt-src packages in a bit. However, that also means I have a suggestion for the live iso: running gtkreposetup as part of the installation process.
Image
Image
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
 
Posts: 5159
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby djemos » 30. Oct 2016, 12:21

Live installation happens to background. Sli gui is a front-end to build-slackware-live script and cannot run gtkreposetup or reposetup so user can choose another repo. Nothing will appear to user in live environment. I cannot explain it further.

Edit: i have edit the slapt-src in rc1 and rsync it to sourceforge so users can test it.
Waiting for new bugs come up for some days.

When new package uploaded in repos, i will recreate the isos and rsync, upload an rc2 version.
djemos
Salix Warrior
 
Posts: 990
Joined: 29. Dec 2009, 13:45
Location: Greece

Re: Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1

Postby babam » 30. Oct 2016, 12:43

ikke wrote:
djemos wrote:Salix Live Xfce 14.2 rc1 is ready.

I hope no problems will be reported and this will be renamed to the final release.

Thank you for providing this iso. Nice!

Again : can't you provide a bootcode to tell the system where it can find the '/boot/modules' directory? So I can do a frugal install my way ...

Thank you.

If you make a frugal install on a USB Flash Drive and then try to change the Volume Label on the USB Flash Drive to the "LIVE".

But i'm not sure.
Sorry, my English is bad.
babam
 
Posts: 18
Joined: 28. Oct 2015, 14:11

Next

Return to Announcements

cron