Salix 13.1alpha1

User avatar
JRD
Salix Warrior
Posts: 949
Joined: 7. Jun 2009, 22:52
Location: Lyon, France

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by JRD » 24. Apr 2010, 12:09

I run in the same problem (about nvidia cards).
The nouveau driver is, in some way, better than the previous nv driver, because the graphical display can run on my two monitors without any tunning. It was not the case with nv, it tries to make a really big screen with my two monitors as If I had only one, and obviously it won't work. Nouveau is working good on this (gdm is displayed quite correctly on my left monitor, and when logged, XFCE is displayed correctly on the right monitor). Still a bit weird, but works better.
For example, I cannot run Salix Live (which uses nv) with my two monitors connected or it ended up with two black screens :(
I also have glitches when switching back to a Linux Console with nouveau, but all texts are readable, which was not the case with the nv driver.
I finally blacklisted the nouveau driver and installed the proprietary nvidia driver and it works good. But I noticed nouveau is making great progress. I will check it regularly.

I also had some headaches problems with the kernel update.
Before update, I was running a kernel 2.6.30.x and my devices were:
- /dev/hda (hard disk with one partition)
- /dev/hdb (CD/DVD drive)
- /dev/hdc (main hard disk with multiple partitions)
- /dev/sda (USB disk with one partition)

Kernel 2.6.33.x dropped the IDE compatibility layer, so no "hd", only "sd", connected with PATA, SATA or USB.
My /etc/fstab uses UID, not device node, to references disks, so everything should boot properly, I will just need to edit /etc/lilo.conf after first boot, to replace "hd" whith "sd".
But It won't boot. Because of my CD/DVD drive which shifted the device letter. /dev/hdc will became /dev/sdb !
Here is how I dealt with it: I rebooted, and on the Lilo prompt I edited the entry (with Tab key) and entered:

Code: Select all

Salix root=/dev/sdb
It booted right, I just needed to modify device names in /etc/lilo.conf and rerun lilo.
P.S. my /dev/hdb is now /dev/sr0 (optical devices are all sr now).
Image

masanee
Posts: 1
Joined: 4. May 2010, 07:34

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by masanee » 5. May 2010, 10:58

How do I change from google chrome to internet explorer? I downloaded google chrome to use this one website and I made it my 'default internet' and I don't want it like that anymore bc it's slowing my computer down, How do I make internet explorer my default internet again?
______________________
external keyword tool ~ keyworddiscovery.com ~ keycompete.com ~ compete.com ~ webmasterworld.com
Last edited by masanee on 15. May 2010, 10:10, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
JRD
Salix Warrior
Posts: 949
Joined: 7. Jun 2009, 22:52
Location: Lyon, France

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by JRD » 5. May 2010, 11:09

This is a joke ???

There is no "Internet Explorer" on Linux...it's a Microsoft Windows product.

There are tons of other browsers on Linux, like Firefox, Konqueror, Opera, Midori, .... plenty of others...

Just run another browser and make it the default when asking.

(P.S. it is a bot ?)
Image

User avatar
Quoth
Posts: 6
Joined: 5. May 2010, 18:09

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by Quoth » 5. May 2010, 18:27

JRD wrote:This is a joke ???
(P.S. it is a bot ?)
masanee wrote:How do I make internet explorer my default internet again?
Read closely, Again. ;)

If it is wether a joke nor a bot, he definately went to the wrong place.
But the phrase about Chrome being slower than IE makes it a joke I guess. :lol:



Q
'There are only 10 types of people in the world: Those who understand binary, and those who don't.'

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5521
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by gapan » 5. May 2010, 18:27

JRD wrote:(P.S. it is a bot ?)
:mrgreen:
Image
Image

User avatar
Duncan_Idaho
Posts: 216
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 01:43
Location: Sietch Tabr, Planet Arrakis

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by Duncan_Idaho » 5. May 2010, 23:45

a bit late of mine, but the alpha is awesome!
I really love the new artwork :mrgreen:
and KMS is great!
I just have a little problem, I upgraded some packages, gdm and udev between them, and on the next boot I have no response from keyboard nor mouse :(
booting in runlevel 3 and starting X manually doesn't work either :(
right now I'm using salix live to backup some data and then I'm gonna try a clean reinstall

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5521
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by gapan » 6. May 2010, 04:25

Did you upgrade the kernel?
Image
Image

User avatar
Duncan_Idaho
Posts: 216
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 01:43
Location: Sietch Tabr, Planet Arrakis

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by Duncan_Idaho » 6. May 2010, 04:30

gapan wrote:Did you upgrade the kernel?
yes I did, was I not supposed to do that? :?:

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5521
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by gapan » 6. May 2010, 04:35

Yes, you definitely should. I'm trying to figure out what might have caused it. I also remember there was an upgrade to xorg-server 1.7.7 lately. Did you upgrade that too?
Image
Image

User avatar
Duncan_Idaho
Posts: 216
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 01:43
Location: Sietch Tabr, Planet Arrakis

Re: Salix 13.1alpha1

Post by Duncan_Idaho » 6. May 2010, 04:40

gapan wrote:Yes, you definitely should. I'm trying to figure out what might have caused it. I also remember there was an upgrade to xorg-server 1.7.7 lately. Did you upgrade that too?
I guess I did, I don't remember all the packages but I did the upgrade this monday and I upgraded every upgradeable package that was available that day

Locked