Salix 13.1RC1

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5490
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Salix 13.1RC1

Post by gapan » 27. May 2010, 08:53

So here is Salix 13.1RC1. Let us test this and then release 13.1 final in about a week. The repositories for version 13.1 are already in place and Slackware 13.1 users can already use them for adding software packages in their systems. Not many changes since 13.1beta1, here's the short list:
* v4l-utils added, needed for simple-scan
* ktsuss has been internationalized and already translated in several languages
* tweaked the package update notification tool so that it will hopefully prevent freezes in gslapt
* upgraded a few packages to their latest version available
* cleaned up the repositories from obsolete packages

Here are the download links from our sourceforge page:
i486: http://sourceforge.net/projects/salix/f ... o/download
x86_64: http://sourceforge.net/projects/salix/f ... o/download

The package repositories mirrors for 13.1 are in:
i486:
http://salix.enialis.net/i486/13.1/
http://download.salixos.org/i486/13.1/
http://slackware.org.uk/salix/i486/13.1/
x86_64:
http://salix.enialis.net/x86_64/13.1/
http://download.salixos.org/x86_64/13.1/
http://slackware.org.uk/salix/x86_64/13.1/

Please give these a few tests and report back anything you find.

Thank you!
Image
Image

zaen
Posts: 48
Joined: 6. Mar 2010, 11:01

Re: Salix 13.1RC1

Post by zaen » 27. May 2010, 13:42

Thank you gapan,

My system:
Laptop: Acer Aspire 4736z
T4200, Intel GMA 4500M
Bluetooth and Wifi (forgot brands)
2GB DDR3, 250GBHD
Dual booting WinXP and Salix OS 13.1 RC1

I installed the 13.1 RC1 in record time: 7 minutes, measured from the time I pressed "ENTER" at the boot prompt to "ENTER" at the Reboot Now dialog box. This is wicked fast!

1. No hiccups encountered in that font-cache config thingy. Installation traffic was smooth and orderly.

2. Wireless was picked up and configured without trouble

3. Multimedia installer went smoothly and installed the codecs.

4. I opened gslapt and installed my other favorite programs, mplayer, smplayer, k3b 1.0.5 (plus its other dependencies qt3 and kdebase-runtime) and xfbrun. They're still in the process of downloading.

5. I also selected vlc but get a notice saying, "Missing dependency: lib4vl" This did not happen in the previous version's vlc installation. I skipped vlc for the moment. I searched lib4vl in gslapt which only returned v4l-utils already shaded (installed).

6. Parole do not have the option to select subtitle language in the .mkv movie I played.

I will update this feedback as I go through actually using the OS the way I do.

Nice artwork and no more "masking" ,with image, the scrolling of the boot text! Geeky, yeah! :lol:

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5490
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix 13.1RC1

Post by gapan » 27. May 2010, 14:10

Thanks for the report zaen.
zaen wrote:5. I also selected vlc but get a notice saying, "Missing dependency: lib4vl" This did not happen in the previous version's vlc installation. I skipped vlc for the moment. I searched lib4vl in gslapt which only returned v4l-utils already shaded (installed).
This should be fixed now. Just update your package database before trying to install again.
Image
Image

zaen
Posts: 48
Joined: 6. Mar 2010, 11:01

Re: Salix 13.1RC1

Post by zaen » 27. May 2010, 14:21

I appreciate the quick response 8-)

To its credit, brasero detected my external USB DVD-Writer and successfully burned a DVD image.
Image
Cool, now I have the option to use 3 good burning apps.

zaen
Posts: 48
Joined: 6. Mar 2010, 11:01

Re: Salix 13.1RC1

Post by zaen » 27. May 2010, 15:43

VLC is back in business after package update, thanks gapan.

Alas, k3b 1.0.5 wont start. This after I also installed qt3 and kdebase-runtime. I noticed that only version 4.4 of the kdebase-runtime is in the package manager. Could this be the reason, missing kdebase-runtime version 3.10? I however successfully installed and started k3b-1.91.

Firefox screen also flickers randomly, not often, but it does. Even though I'm not touching the laptop. It has to be Firefox because when I go to another virtual desktop without any open application, there is no flickering. Strange.

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5490
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Salix 13.1RC1

Post by gapan » 27. May 2010, 20:23

zaen wrote:Alas, k3b 1.0.5 wont start. This after I also installed qt3 and kdebase-runtime. I noticed that only version 4.4 of the kdebase-runtime is in the package manager. Could this be the reason, missing kdebase-runtime version 3.10? I however successfully installed and started k3b-1.91.
Actually, we will remove k3b 1.0.5 from the repositories. It needs an old libjpeg version that is not present in 13.1 anymore.
zaen wrote:Firefox screen also flickers randomly, not often, but it does. Even though I'm not touching the laptop. It has to be Firefox because when I go to another virtual desktop without any open application, there is no flickering. Strange.
Does it only flicker inside firefox?
Image
Image

User avatar
thenktor
Salix Wizard
Posts: 2426
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 14:47
Location: Franconia
Contact:

Re: Salix 13.1RC1

Post by thenktor » 27. May 2010, 20:47

zaen wrote:Firefox screen also flickers randomly, not often, but it does. Even though I'm not touching the laptop. It has to be Firefox because when I go to another virtual desktop without any open application, there is no flickering. Strange.
I had flicker or super slow rendering in Firefox because of bad graphic card drivers ;) Installing nvidia driver was the solution.
Image
burnCDDA (burns audio CDs)
geBIERt (German beer blog)

zaen
Posts: 48
Joined: 6. Mar 2010, 11:01

Re: Salix 13.1RC1

Post by zaen » 27. May 2010, 21:30

Firefox was the only open application during screen flickering but I'm not really sure it's firefox, heheh. I dont think I can install any other video driver in my laptop other than the default intel driver. Video playback and sound are smooth though. Weird but I am writing this after my laptop was turned off for several hours and yeah, there's the flicker again. Note that the screen disturbance occurs at the bottom half of the display only. It appears to be a very quick flash of dark horizontal bands.

Well, test's over for me. I'll reinstall 13.0.2a. I need that k3b 1.0.5. If the screen continues to flicker then, it might be my hardware problem.

Thanks guys! :mrgreen:

User avatar
damNageHack
Posts: 663
Joined: 24. Sep 2009, 17:07

Re: Salix 13.1RC1

Post by damNageHack » 28. May 2010, 15:39

zaen wrote:Firefox was the only open application during screen flickering
Something similiar like that?
http://www.salixos.org/forum/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=826
I have seen it only once and never again :D Fixed it by restarting. I have also Intel graphic here.
Image
This is the oppinion of the author, it does not force you to share and is signed automatically.
You are free to keep them all errors for your own. Linux is the best game I ever played.

azurehi
Posts: 5
Joined: 16. Feb 2010, 21:30

Re: Salix 13.1RC1

Post by azurehi » 28. May 2010, 16:36

Can Salix 13.1RC1 be upgraded to Salix 13.1, when released? If so, I would appreciate knowing how.

Thanks.

Locked