[done] Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

If there's software you need and you can't find, make a request for it.
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 6238
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by gapan »

Shador wrote:No, it definitely isn't, there are other packages provided by use which could use it. I would for example rebuild both ario and mpd for avahi support. They are the only packages I maintain which I know of that they support avahi, but I would also rebuild any other.
So providing avahi would at least give us the possibility to use it with our apps.
We are not going to compile kde or pidgin or anything slackware provides just to add avahi to the list of dependencies.
Image
Image
Shador
Posts: 1295
Joined: 11. Jun 2009, 14:04
Location: Bavaria

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by Shador »

gapan wrote:
Shador wrote:No, it definitely isn't, there are other packages provided by use which could use it. I would for example rebuild both ario and mpd for avahi support. They are the only packages I maintain which I know of that they support avahi, but I would also rebuild any other.
So providing avahi would at least give us the possibility to use it with our apps.
We are not going to compile kde or pidgin or anything slackware provides just to add avahi to the list of dependencies.
If you had read my post, you knew that I never mentioned this in any way.
I only said (twice) that "providing avahi would at least give us the possibility to use it with our apps" and never suggested to recompile Slackware packages for it. Apart I added that my packages would be recompiled to support avahi.
Image
User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 6238
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by gapan »

I know what you said, but thenktor was asking about all the other packages. :D
Image
Image
User avatar
thenktor
Salix Wizard
Posts: 2426
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 14:47
Location: Franconia
Contact:

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by thenktor »

And I've already said that there is no way for recompile :P
Image
burnCDDA (burns audio CDs)
geBIERt (German beer blog)
User avatar
damNageHack
Posts: 663
Joined: 24. Sep 2009, 17:07

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by damNageHack »

So what configuration is preferred for avahi compilation?

Current state:

Code: Select all

./configure \
  --prefix=/usr \
  --libdir=/usr/lib${LIBDIRSUFFIX} \
  --sysconfdir=/etc \
  --localstatedir=/var \
  --mandir=/usr/man \
  --docdir=/usr/doc/$PRGNAM-$VERSION \
  --disable-static \
  --disable-monodoc \
  --disable-autoipd \
  --enable-python-dbus \
  --enable-pygtk\
  --enable-glib \
  --enable-dbus \
  --enable-python \
  --enable-gtk \
  --disable-qt4 \
  --disable-qt3 \
  --enable-core-docs \
  --enable-compat-howl \
  --enable-compat-libdns_sd \
  --with-dbus-sys=/etc/dbus-1/system.d \
  --with-avahi-user=avahi \
  --with-avahi-group=avahi \
  --with-avahi-priv-access-group=root \
  --with-distro=slackware \
  --program-prefix= \
  --program-suffix= \
  --build=$ARCH-slackware-linux \
  $MONO 
$MONO is usally "--disable-mono"
Image
This is the oppinion of the author, it does not force you to share and is signed automatically.
You are free to keep them all errors for your own. Linux is the best game I ever played.
User avatar
thenktor
Salix Wizard
Posts: 2426
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 14:47
Location: Franconia
Contact:

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by thenktor »

--enable-qt4 ;)
Image
burnCDDA (burns audio CDs)
geBIERt (German beer blog)
User avatar
Duncan_Idaho
Posts: 216
Joined: 19. Sep 2009, 01:43
Location: Sietch Tabr, Planet Arrakis

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by Duncan_Idaho »

JRD wrote:Yes but mono is crap and useless. And mono applications are bad.
Just my opinion.
I wholeheartedly agree with you :mrgreen:
prfaasse
Posts: 14
Joined: 22. Sep 2009, 18:31
Location: Amsterdam

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by prfaasse »

I would have very little to remark w.r.t. your configuration. Mind you: my 'right to speak' in casu SalixOS is -by my own estimate- extremely slim :D

that said, this is my set of config options:

Code: Select all

       ./configure \
        --prefix=$PREFIX \
        --sysconfdir=/etc \
        --localstatedir=/var \
        --mandir=$PREFIX/man \
        --with-distro=slackware \
        --with-avahi-user=daemon \
        --with-avahi-group=daemon \
        --with-avahi-priv-access-group=root \
        --disable-autoipd \
        --disable-mono \
        --disable-qt3 \
        --enable-gtk \
        --enable-pygtk \
        --enable-qt4 \
        --enable-compat-libdns_sd \
        --enable-compat-howl || exit
-for reference- this is the 'config status' as reported by the ./configure as generated for my zenwalk machine. this 'status report' is shown at the end of the ./configure part of the package build. Your result may be slightly different: Salix is not zenwalk :-) The result depends upon he config options and upon what the ./configure 'finds' present on your system.

Code: Select all

---{ avahi 0.6.25 }---

    prefix:                                    /usr
    sysconfdir:                                /etc
    localstatedir:                             /var
    avahi socket:                              /var/run/avahi-daemon/socket
    dbus-1 system.d dir:                       /etc/dbus-1/system.d
    dbus-1 version:                            1.2.14
    dbus-1 system socket:                      unix:path=/var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket
    C Compiler:                                gcc
    CFLAGS:                                    -O2 -march=i486 -mtune=i686 -fstack-protector -std=c99 -Wall -W -Wextra -p
edantic -pipe -Wformat -Wold-style-definition -Wdeclaration-after-statement -Wfloat-equal -Wmissing-declarations -Wmissin
g-prototypes -Wstrict-prototypes -Wredundant-decls -Wmissing-noreturn -Wshadow -Wendif-labels -Wpointer-arith -Wbad-funct
ion-cast -Wcast-qual -Wcast-align -Wwrite-strings -Winline -D_XOPEN_SOURCE=500 -D__EXTENSIONS__
    Enable GLIB:                               yes
    Enable GLIB GObject:                       yes
    Enable GTK:                                yes
    Enable D-Bus:                              yes
    With XML:                                  expat
    Enable GDBM:                               yes
    Enable DBM:                                no
    Enable libdaemon:                          yes
    Enable Python:                             yes
    Enable pygtk:                              yes
    Enable python-dbus:                        yes
    Enable QT3:                                no
    Enable QT4:                                yes
    Enable Mono:                               no
    Enable Monodoc:                            yes
    Distribution/OS:                           slackware
    User for avahi-daemon:                     daemon
    Group for avahi-daemon:                    daemon
    Priviliged access group for Avahi clients: root
    User for avahi-autoipd:                    avahi-autoipd
    Group for avahi-autoipd:                   avahi-autoipd
    Enable chroot():                           yes
    Enable Linux inotify:                      yes
    Enable stack-smashing protection:          yes

    Building libavahi-core              yes
    Building avahi-daemon:              yes
    Building avahi-dnsconfd:            yes
    Building libavahi-client:           yes
    Building avahi-utils:               yes
    Building avahi-python:              yes
    Building libavahi-glib:             yes
    Building libavahi-gobject:          yes
    Building avahi-discover-standalone: yes
    Building libavahi-qt3:              no
    Building libavahi-qt4:              yes
    Building avahi-sharp:               no
    Building avahi-compat-libdns_sd:    yes
    Building avahi-compat-howl:         yes
    Building tests:                     no
    Building avahi-core documentation:  no
    Building avahi-autoipd:             no
    Building libavahi-ui:               yes
I do not know is Salix has a user/group 'daemon'; if so, it might be an idea to 're-use' that one instead of adding a separate 'avahi' user/group. The user/group avahi-autopid as reported above is a bit 'moot': autopid itself is disabled. The 'building libavahi-ui' is -as far as i know- the message that the gtk-gui applications will be built.

The default icon for those avahi-applications is 'network-wired'; Don't know is Salix has such an icon.... I got 'mine' (an avahi-'bear') from here:

http://lists.freedesktop.org/archives/t ... /avahi.png

This is a 128x128 png-icon. It can be rescaled with 'convert' from 'imagemagick' to make it 'fit'. I did edit the .desktop files of the avahi-package to actually use that avahi icon.

Upon close checking of my avahi-buildfile, i also see that i have disabled 'wide area browsing'. Avahi supports browsing of services 'beyond' the local link (meaning: in well-defined subsets of the 'great-wide' www-beyond...). The default configuration of avahi enables that, and 'links' to the 'home' domain of avahi (0pointer.de). I made the following change to the default avahi config to switch that off:

Code: Select all

#
# fix the configuration
#
AVAHI_CONF=$DEST/etc/avahi
sed -i 's|enable-wide-area=yes|enable-wide-area=no|' $AVAHI_CONF/avahi-daemon.conf
sed -i 's|browse-domains=0pointer.de, zeroconf.org|#browse-domains=0pointer.de, zeroconf.org|' $AVAHI_CONF/avahi-daemon.conf
It is my feeling that what services my local computers have available is none of the business of the good folk at 0pointer.de :D

Another thing: the avahi config file supports -nowadays- to enable/disable interfaces: on a computer with more than one network card, you can 'switch on/off' avahi per network card. I -for instance- have a machine at work that is connected to both a few 'local' (my room only) networks and one 'world' network. I switched off the avhi for the 'world' network: outside of my office, i do *not* want to present whatever services i have :D

Other than that: have fun :D
in case of panic: scream and run in circles
User avatar
damNageHack
Posts: 663
Joined: 24. Sep 2009, 17:07

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by damNageHack »

prfaasse wrote:I would have very little to remark w.r.t. your configuration. Mind you: my 'right to speak' in casu SalixOS is -by my own estimate- extremely slim :D
Let me note that every user has the right to give its comments here. So, also you are welcome ;)

I would like to provide the best standard configuration for avahi: depends on the user needs. So I will search for a consensus that fits to the most wanted.

And thanks again for your detailed help.
Image
This is the oppinion of the author, it does not force you to share and is signed automatically.
You are free to keep them all errors for your own. Linux is the best game I ever played.
User avatar
damNageHack
Posts: 663
Joined: 24. Sep 2009, 17:07

Re: Avahi - Zeroconf Networking

Post by damNageHack »

Sorry, but I will not support your patches to configuration and icon. this is dirty hacking in my opinion. Salix claims to keep as compatible to original Slackware as best it can.

I would like to let the user decide what configuration it wants to have, just using the original standard as default then.

User/Group daemon is also part of salix, so it can optionally be used instead of the suggested of the new avahi. But I think, using an extra user/group named avahi is more safe than using just "one for all".

Qt4 will be included.

So, here you go: http://people.salixos.org/damnagehack/avahi/

EDIT: Please let me know, if you want to have a xml included to have support for your packages included. In critical circumstances, I would also patch configuration in a most "clear" way.
Image
This is the oppinion of the author, it does not force you to share and is signed automatically.
You are free to keep them all errors for your own. Linux is the best game I ever played.
Post Reply