firefox 4 beta

If there's software you need and you can't find, make a request for it.
User avatar
thenktor
Salix Wizard
Posts: 2426
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 14:47
Location: Franconia
Contact:

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by thenktor » 7. Jul 2010, 22:36

Shador wrote:You can also use this switch:

Code: Select all

-no-remote		Open new instance, not a new window in running instance.
Very useful for example too for X forwarding as otherwise only a new window in the local instance is opened instead of a new instance on the remote host. It's only documented for thunderbird but works with firefox fine as well.
Nice tip :)
Image
burnCDDA (burns audio CDs)
geBIERt (German beer blog)

User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3101
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by mimosa » 7. Jul 2010, 22:41

Hmm, I'll try running apps from the console some more. I think I may have run up against some kind of permissions problems when I did it before; certainly, some pretty unhappy-sounding output in the console. If I continue to have trouble, I'll put up a post with some examples, given that you suggest it should be equivalent to working in X. Also, you may remember that my filesystems are all corrupt, so all bets are presumably off till I get that fixed. Though from the way my machine's running today, you'd never guess.

@grub I think I must mean 0.x. It's definitely not grub2.

User avatar
thenktor
Salix Wizard
Posts: 2426
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 14:47
Location: Franconia
Contact:

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by thenktor » 7. Jul 2010, 22:45

mimosa wrote:I think I may have run up against some kind of permissions problems when I did it before; certainly, some pretty unhappy-sounding output in the console. If I continue to have trouble, I'll put up a post with some examples
Yes, please give any examples. I cannot imagine any problems when starting a program from terminal instead of the menu.
Image
burnCDDA (burns audio CDs)
geBIERt (German beer blog)

User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3101
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by mimosa » 10. Jul 2010, 17:29

Ok, now that the filesystem at least in Salix seems to be kosher, here goes.

The problem seems to be when being root:

Code: Select all

tim[~]$ su
Password: 
root[tim]# exaile
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/lib/exaile/exaile.py", line 56, in <module>
    main()
  File "/usr/lib/exaile/exaile.py", line 53, in main
    exaile = main.Exaile()
  File "/usr/lib/exaile/xl/main.py", line 85, in __init__
    if xldbus.check_exit(self.options, self.args):
  File "/usr/lib/exaile/xl/xldbus.py", line 49, in check_exit
    bus = dbus.SessionBus()
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/_dbus.py", line 219, in __new__
    mainloop=mainloop)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/_dbus.py", line 108, in __new__
    bus = BusConnection.__new__(subclass, bus_type, mainloop=mainloop)
  File "/usr/lib/python2.6/site-packages/dbus/bus.py", line 125, in __new__
    bus = cls._new_for_bus(address_or_type, mainloop=mainloop)
dbus.exceptions.DBusException: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NoReply: Did not receive a reply. Possible causes include: the remote application did not send a reply, the message bus security policy blocked the reply, the reply timeout expired, or the network connection was broken.
root[tim]# 
which would hardly be necessary to listen to Mozart, but is often enough a reason one might want to run a GUI-based application from the console. Exaile ran fine just now without my being root, though there were a few error messages like this:

Code: Select all

(exaile.py:9293): libglade-WARNING **: unknown property `orientation' for class `GtkVBox'
The tip about appending & is very handy, by the way.

Incidentally, have I got this right?

Code: Select all

tim[firefox]$ firefox -no-remote
because it tells me:

Code: Select all

Firefox is already running, but is not responding. To open a new window, you must first close the existing Firefox process, or restart your system. OK

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5532
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by gapan » 10. Jul 2010, 17:58

Does Mozart demand do be listened by the root user?
Image
Image

User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3101
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by mimosa » 10. Jul 2010, 18:02

That would hardly be necessary.

Shador
Posts: 1295
Joined: 11. Jun 2009, 14:04
Location: Bavaria

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by Shador » 10. Jul 2010, 22:46

I guess the problem is that when you su to become root you don't actually log in so some stuff doesn't become initialized/started and the according environment variables remain unset. At least that might explain the dbus errors.
Is it working without su?
mimosa wrote:Incidentally, have I got this right?
Yes and I'm getting the same message too. Seems like it only works when doing X forwarding through ssh to another machine. :|
Image

User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3101
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by mimosa » 11. Jul 2010, 00:41

Yes, it's only after su that there is a problem. As gapan said, why would Mozart need to be listened to as root? (Though maybe some music - Rammstein? - would require nothing less ...) But I just tried

Code: Select all

 su -
(albeit on a different [token], though identical [type], machine) and it works.

The only time I want to do this in practice is to overcome some permissions problem that presumably really calls for a proper solution - after all, why else is it forbidden to log in to X as root? For instance, I find I can't write to the /home or /usr/local partition I set up through ncurses, fiddle with fstab, get nowhere, want to save some serious amounts of data, for instance some recently downloaded CDs stored on a machine with apparently corrupted filesystems, and for the time being, it solves my problem. (I may post about these permissions problems again in the future if I don't get anywhere on my own.) Normally, I would just boot my trusty Puppy 4.3.1 CD and use its Australian muscle, but that particular machine has lost its optical drive.

PS

I should say the console output still doesn't look completely happy, though it is as we speak playing the music. As ever with this software, I'm not sure quite what I clicked on to get it to actually perform a sonata:

Code: Select all

root@darkstar:~# exaile
INFO    : Loading Exaile 0.3.1.2...
INFO    : Loading settings...
INFO    : Setting up deferred idle manager function...
INFO    : Loading plugins...
INFO    : Loading collection...
INFO    : Loading devices...
INFO    : Loading interface...
INFO    : HAL Providers: [<cd.CDHandler object at 0x87a610c>]
INFO    : Loading main window...
INFO    : Connecting main window events...
INFO    : Loading panels...
INFO    : Connecting panel events...
INFO    : Done loading main window...
INFO    : Scanning library: file:///root
INFO    : Scanning library: file:///media/disk/Mozart%20Complete%20Piano%20Sonatas%20D.Barenboim%20Piano/cd%205%20k533,545,570,576
INFO    : Playing file:///media/disk/Mozart%20Complete%20Piano%20Sonatas%20D.Barenboim%20Piano/cd%205%20k533,545,570,576/01%20I.%20Allegro%20533.mp3
http://lyricsfly.com/api/api.php?i=46102e76dde1a145b-exaile.org&a=Piano Sonata in F major% K% %%&t=% I% Allegro %%
'<center>\n<h1>Forbidden access</h1><br>\n<h5>Sorry... you don\'t have access to this folder!</h5><br>\n<a href="../">lyricsfly.com</a>\n</center>'
INFO    : Playing file:///media/disk/Mozart%20Complete%20Piano%20Sonatas%20D.Barenboim%20Piano/cd%205%20k533,545,570,576/02%20II.%20Andante%20533.mp3
http://lyricsfly.com/api/api.php?i=46102e76dde1a145b-exaile.org&a=Piano Sonata in F major% K% %%&t=% II% Andante %%
http://lyricsfly.com/api/api.php?i=46102e76dde1a145b-exaile.org&a=Piano Sonata in F major% K% %%&t=% II% Andante %%
'<center>\n<h1>Forbidden access</h1><br>\n<h5>Sorry... you don\'t have access to this folder!</h5><br>\n<a href="../">lyricsfly.com</a>\n</center>'
'<center>\n<h1>Forbidden access</h1><br>\n<h5>Sorry... you don\'t have access to this folder!</h5><br>\n<a href="../">lyricsfly.com</a>\n</center>'

User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3101
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by mimosa » 11. Jul 2010, 00:51

Ah, but looking at it, it is trying to do some tiresomely helpful thing and download the lyrics of Mozart's sonata for me, as if I were listening to a Michael Jackson song. Better luck with Rammstein? I doubt it, really.

User avatar
lmello
Posts: 218
Joined: 4. Aug 2010, 17:38
Location: Brazil
Contact:

Re: firefox 4 beta

Post by lmello » 22. Aug 2010, 20:56

mimosa wrote:Ah. Yes, that did it. It's what you don't know you don't know that trips you up, so much of the time.

It really does feel very fast, by the way.
Nice, but how does HTML5 fare?

Post Reply