Page 2 of 3

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 30. Jan 2019, 22:16
by Van_Vinkle
Done, and the chroot runs well :D

Now I've the work of test the browser's newest version.

______________________________________________________________
Edit: I'd like to add "solved" to the title of this thread, but I cannot edit it.

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 31. Jan 2019, 20:03
by Van_Vinkle
I'm abusing again of your patience.

I've installed smoothly opera-developer, the browse I want test.

Unfortunately, launching it from console:

Code: Select all

lluis / $ opera-developer 
[8721:8721:0131/195050.747357:FATAL:setuid_sandbox_host.cc(158)] The SUID sandbox helper binary was found, but is not configured correctly. Rather than run without sandboxing I'm aborting now. You need to make sure that /usr/lib64/opera-developer/opera_sandbox is owned by root and has mode 4755.
Instrucción ilegal
lluis / $ CrashID=5c6d6f18-f871-4156-bba4-a67f22190131
CrashID=694aed23-7072-4329-be88-094e22190131
The file opera_sandbox seems be OK:

Code: Select all

lluis ~/Desktop $ ls -l /usr/lib64/opera-developer | grep sandbox
-rwxr-xr-x 1 root root    208016 ene  6 23:26 opera_sandbox
lluis ~/Desktop $ 
(this instruction was done into schroot)

??

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 31. Jan 2019, 21:22
by gapan
Weird. I don't get that error and opera_sandbox is not setuid here. Anyway, try this:

Code: Select all

sudo chmod 4755 /usr/lib64/opera-developer/opera_sandbox

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 31. Jan 2019, 21:41
by Van_Vinkle
Done. And got more errors:

Code: Select all

lluis ~/Desktop $ schroot -p -c salix-14.2
lluis ~/Desktop $ sudo chmod 4755 /usr/lib64/opera-developer/opera_sandbox
Password: 
lluis ~/Desktop $ opera-developer
Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/fonts.conf", line 102: unknown element "blank"
Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/conf.avail/66-wqy-zenhei-sharp-no13px.conf", line 11: Having multiple values in <test> isn't supported and may not work as expected
Fontconfig warning: "/etc/fonts/conf.avail/66-wqy-zenhei-sharp.conf", line 10: Having multiple values in <test> isn't supported and may not work as expected
[10895:10911:0131/213700.238214:ERROR:bus.cc(396)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No existe el fichero o el directorio
[10895:10911:0131/213700.238279:ERROR:bus.cc(396)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No existe el fichero o el directorio
[10895:10911:0131/213700.238508:ERROR:bus.cc(396)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No existe el fichero o el directorio
[10895:10911:0131/213700.239445:ERROR:bus.cc(396)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No existe el fichero o el directorio
[10895:10911:0131/213700.239512:ERROR:bus.cc(396)] Failed to connect to the bus: Failed to connect to socket /var/run/dbus/system_bus_socket: No existe el fichero o el directorio
GLib-GIO-Message: Using the 'memory' GSettings backend.  Your settings will not be saved or shared with other applications.
[10895:10905:0131/213700.294353:FATAL:memory.cc(22)] Out of memory. size=131072
Instrucción ilegal
lluis ~/Desktop $ CrashID=b3426037-55e5-4348-96fd-313fc2190131
CrashID=52414571-f34b-4417-8d02-971ce2190131

lluis ~/Desktop $ 

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 31. Jan 2019, 22:19
by gapan
How much RAM do you have on that PC? Could it be that you are running out? These two are the only errors:

Code: Select all

[10895:10905:0131/213700.294353:FATAL:memory.cc(22)] Out of memory. size=131072
Instrucción ilegal
The "illegal instruction" one is strange too. What kind of CPU do you have?

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 2. Feb 2019, 15:42
by Van_Vinkle

Code: Select all

 # inxi -m -v 2
System:
  Host: darkstar.example.net Kernel: 4.4.157 x86_64 bits: 64 
  Desktop: MATE 1.16.1 Distro: Salix 14.2 
Machine:
  Type: Desktop Mobo: ASUSTeK model: M4N78 PRO v: Rev 1.xx 
  serial: 101705740001449 BIOS: American Megatrends v: 1101 date: 09/02/2009 
Memory:
  Array-1: capacity: 16 GiB slots: 4 EC: None 
  Device-1: DIMM_A1 size: 2 GiB speed: 667 MHz 
  Device-2: DIMM_B1 size: 2 GiB speed: 667 MHz 
  Device-3: DIMM_A2 size: No Module Installed 
  Device-4: DIMM_B2 size: No Module Installed 
CPU:
  Dual Core: AMD Athlon II X2 250 type: MCP speed: 800 MHz 
  min/max: 800/3000 MHz 
Graphics:
  Device-1: AMD RV730 PRO [Radeon HD 4650] driver: radeon v: kernel 
  Display: server: X.Org 1.18.3 driver: ati,radeon 
  unloaded: modesetting,vesa resolution: 1366x768~60Hz 
  OpenGL: renderer: Gallium 0.4 on AMD RV730 (DRM 2.43.0 LLVM 3.8.0) 
  v: 3.3 Mesa 11.2.2 
Network:
  Device-1: NVIDIA MCP77 Ethernet driver: forcedeth 
  Device-2: Realtek RTL-8100/8101L/8139 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter 
  driver: 8139too 
Drives:
  Local Storage: total: 344.68 GiB used: 165.87 GiB (48.1%) 
Info:
  Processes: 228 Uptime: 4m Memory: 3.85 GiB used: 545.5 MiB (13.8%) 
  Shell: bash inxi: 3.0.24 
root 

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 2. Feb 2019, 21:34
by gapan
It might just be that it has been compiled with some option that is not supported by your CPU. I'm guessing that maybe your Athlon does not support SSE3. What is the output of:

Code: Select all

cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep flags

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 3. Feb 2019, 19:38
by Van_Vinkle

Code: Select all

 $ cat /proc/cpuinfo | grep flags
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt hw_pstate vmmcall npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save
flags		: fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 ht syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt pdpe1gb rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow constant_tsc rep_good nopl nonstop_tsc extd_apicid pni monitor cx16 popcnt lahf_lm cmp_legacy svm extapic cr8_legacy abm sse4a misalignsse 3dnowprefetch osvw ibs skinit wdt hw_pstate vmmcall npt lbrv svm_lock nrip_save

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 3. Feb 2019, 19:42
by gapan
It seems that my guess was correct. Your CPU does not support ssse3 and opera-developer is most likely compiled with it. If that's it, unless the opera developers compile it with different options, unfortunately it's not going to work for you.

Re: Upgrading a package and holding it

Posted: 5. Feb 2019, 15:32
by Van_Vinkle
gapan wrote: 3. Feb 2019, 19:42 It seems that my guess was correct. Your CPU does not support ssse3 and opera-developer is most likely compiled with it. If that's it, unless the opera developers compile it with different options, unfortunately it's not going to work for you.
:(
Does this mean that I can not use opera-developer?
According to wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Athlon_64_X2)
AMD Athlon II X2 supports SSE3. Perhaps the problem is in my system? Do you think upgrade the kernel whorth it?