Which Is Most Responsive

Other talk about Salix
retriever

Which Is Most Responsive

Post by retriever »

I am new to Salix, coming from Mint. I would like to know which version of Salix is the fastest and most responsive. I know it is subjective. but I'm interested as it would help me select the best one for me on my 64 bit laptop.

Thank you.
mimosa
Salix Warrior

Re: Which Is Most Responsive

Post by mimosa »

That is really a function of the DE or WM concerned. The question might be more, how powerful is your hardware? However powerful it is, it will be faster with a slimmer graphical environment (or none). However, even at the heavier end, Salix does perform well compared to many distros. At the ligher end, there is Salix Ratpoison.

Another consideration is that to date, only the Xfce edition has been released for 14.0.1; all the other versions are 13.37. However, Salix KDE 14.0.1 will be released very shortly.
retriever

Post by retriever »

Thank you for your reply. I guess I'll give Xfce a try. :)
sqlpython
Donor

Post by sqlpython »

Hello retriever and Welcome to Salix Slack..

I am a KDE convert since 2009. I use XFCE daily and monitor it's RAM usage as well as responsiveness.
Also I am a Really Big OpenBox Fan. Most all my installs of Slackware, Debian, Gentoo and Arch have both OpenBox & Xfce Desktops. Some have Fluxbox also.