How do i switch from LILO to Grub? [SOLVED]

Other talk about Salix
Post Reply
bobo
Douche bag
Posts: 78
Joined: 17. Feb 2015, 16:37
Location: Panama

How do i switch from LILO to Grub? [SOLVED]

Post by bobo » 19. Feb 2015, 16:51

I'm using Salix 14.1 with Fluxbox and the default LILO on the MBR.

What do i have to install and how do i go about it? if i wanna switch to grub?
Been googling but i'm not sure i understood correctly:

1. remove LILO
2. install GRUB2 and os-prober
3. run grub-install as root
4. run update-grub as root
5. reboot

I'm not sure about this, (I am a little dense) would somebody please go step by step before i mess up and have to re-install?

Whatever happened to the idea of having the option of choosing lilo or grub during the installation ?

Thank you

Thanks,
Last edited by bobo on 5. Apr 2015, 19:37, edited 2 times in total.
Desktop: Celeron - 2 GB RAM - HD 160 GB - Slackel/Salix - icewm/jwm - Grub
KISS: Keep It Simple, Stupid

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5528
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: How do i switch from LILO to Grub?

Post by gapan » 19. Feb 2015, 21:18

I have to ask: why?

The procedure you're referring to should be fine. although I don't even remember the last time I used grub.
Image
Image

elcore
Posts: 40
Joined: 4. Jul 2014, 05:07
Location: EU

Re: How do i switch from LILO to Grub?

Post by elcore » 20. Feb 2015, 06:12

What I did was skip lilo in setup, and then "chroot /mnt" and "grub-install /dev/sdx"
In my case, the /dev/sdx was /dev/sda but it could be sdb or sdc depending on how many drives you got.
Since I had already written a grub.cfg by hand, there was no need for os-prober or update-grub.
You only need these scripts if you want to automatically create a new grub configuration.

bobo
Douche bag
Posts: 78
Joined: 17. Feb 2015, 16:37
Location: Panama

Re: How do i switch from LILO to Grub?

Post by bobo » 20. Feb 2015, 20:11

Thanks Elcore, i will try that as soon as my electricity service is restablished. :)
I am posting from an internet cafe.
Desktop: Celeron - 2 GB RAM - HD 160 GB - Slackel/Salix - icewm/jwm - Grub
KISS: Keep It Simple, Stupid

bobo
Douche bag
Posts: 78
Joined: 17. Feb 2015, 16:37
Location: Panama

Re: How do i switch from LILO to Grub?

Post by bobo » 1. Mar 2015, 04:27

@Elcore, i uninstalled salix and installed debian with grub, then reinstalled salix, omitted the lilo installation and rebooted,did the "upgrade-grub" as root from debian, and rebooted, now i got both distros on grub.
Desktop: Celeron - 2 GB RAM - HD 160 GB - Slackel/Salix - icewm/jwm - Grub
KISS: Keep It Simple, Stupid

elcore
Posts: 40
Joined: 4. Jul 2014, 05:07
Location: EU

Re: How do i switch from LILO to Grub?

Post by elcore » 1. Mar 2015, 09:06

Yes, I can see how this might work, but is not very convenient to reinstall.
I would suggest backing up grub.cfg now, you may need it sometime later.
And if you want to configure it manually next time, there's this wiki article.
Specifically, there's a section about manual configuration, it works fine on any distro.

bobo
Douche bag
Posts: 78
Joined: 17. Feb 2015, 16:37
Location: Panama

Re: How do i switch from LILO to Grub?

Post by bobo » 1. Mar 2015, 14:19

elcore wrote:Yes, I can see how this might work, but is not very convenient to reinstall.
I would suggest backing up grub.cfg now, you may need it sometime later.
And if you want to configure it manually next time, there's this wiki article.
Specifically, there's a section about manual configuration, it works fine on any distro.
I know... but as the installation of salixos is so fast, i didn't know didly about grub, didn't take me long, as for the gentoo link, i save it for the next time. Right now I got debian/icewm and salix/jwm. Been playing with the idea of installing salix/ratpoison, it's only an "update-grub" away :)

Later, and thanks again for all the info. Grub is for me.
Desktop: Celeron - 2 GB RAM - HD 160 GB - Slackel/Salix - icewm/jwm - Grub
KISS: Keep It Simple, Stupid

bobo
Douche bag
Posts: 78
Joined: 17. Feb 2015, 16:37
Location: Panama

Re: How do i switch from LILO to Grub?

Post by bobo » 15. Mar 2015, 18:04

Hi Elcore, i think i got it now.

Code: Select all

1.# slapt-get --remove lilo
2.# slapt-get -i grub
3.# grub-install /dev/sda (MBR)
4.# update-grub
5.# reboot
For the following OSes, omit the boot installation (lilo or grub) boot the first OS and

Code: Select all

#update-grub
#reboot
Desktop: Celeron - 2 GB RAM - HD 160 GB - Slackel/Salix - icewm/jwm - Grub
KISS: Keep It Simple, Stupid

Post Reply