cannot connect to internet using pppoe

fraserp
Posts: 6
Joined: 8. Nov 2011, 20:01
Location: NL, Canada

Re: cannot connect to internet using pppoe

Post by fraserp »

Here are the results (I think) of all your suggestions:
-----------------------------------------
bash-4.1$ ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=1 ttl=54 time=59.6 ms

bash-4.1$ ping 149.20.4.69
PING 149.20.4.69 (149.20.4.69) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 149.20.4.69: icmp_req=1 ttl=48 time=124 ms

bash-4.1$ ping 95.156.208.97
PING 95.156.208.97 (95.156.208.97) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 95.156.208.97: icmp_req=1 ttl=57 time=123 ms
--------------------------------------------------
root[fraser]# pppoe-start
. Connected!
root[fraser]# pppoe-status
pppoe-status: Link is up and running on interface ppp0
ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:142.163.77.188 P-t-P:142.163.63.8 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
RX packets:285 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:288 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:23718 (23.1 KiB) TX bytes:23893 (23.3 KiB)

---------------------------
root[fraser]# ifconfig ppp0
ppp0 Link encap:Point-to-Point Protocol
inet addr:142.163.77.188 P-t-P:142.163.63.8 Mask:255.255.255.255
UP POINTOPOINT RUNNING NOARP MULTICAST MTU:1492 Metric:1
RX packets:285 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:288 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:3
RX bytes:23718 (23.1 KiB) TX bytes:23893 (23.3 KiB)

------------------------------

root[fraser]# ls -l /etc/resolv.conf
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 195 2011-11-11 08:38 /etc/resolv.conf

root[fraser]# cat /etc/ppp/resolv.conf
cat: /etc/ppp/resolv.conf: No such file or directory

---------------------------------------------------------
root[fraser]# route -n
Kernel IP routing table
Destination Gateway Genmask Flags Metric Ref Use Iface
142.163.63.8 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.255 UH 0 0 0 ppp0
192.168.2.0 0.0.0.0 255.255.255.0 U 202 0 0 eth0
127.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 255.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 lo
0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 U 0 0 0 ppp0
0.0.0.0 192.168.2.1 0.0.0.0 UG 202 0 0 eth0

-----------------------------
Note, I don’t have a router; my phone line is connected to a modem and the modem is connected to my laptop; that’s all I have. Thanks again.
User avatar
thenktor
Salix Wizard
Posts: 2426
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 14:47
Location: Franconia
Contact:

Re: cannot connect to internet using pppoe

Post by thenktor »

fraserp wrote: bash-4.1$ ping 8.8.8.8
PING 8.8.8.8 (8.8.8.8) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 8.8.8.8: icmp_req=1 ttl=54 time=59.6 ms

bash-4.1$ ping 149.20.4.69
PING 149.20.4.69 (149.20.4.69) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 149.20.4.69: icmp_req=1 ttl=48 time=124 ms

bash-4.1$ ping 95.156.208.97
PING 95.156.208.97 (95.156.208.97) 56(84) bytes of data.
64 bytes from 95.156.208.97: icmp_req=1 ttl=57 time=123 ms
OK, so you indeed have a DNS problem. Perhaps you did something wrong at pppoe-setup because usually you can chose to use your provider's DNS servers. Check that first. You can also specify your own DNS servers:
Create a file /etc/resolv.conf.tail and add these lines:

Code: Select all

nameserver 8.8.8.8
nameserver 8.8.4.4
These are Google DNS servers. You can of course use others, but you have to search available servers on your own then ;)
Image
burnCDDA (burns audio CDs)
geBIERt (German beer blog)
fraserp
Posts: 6
Joined: 8. Nov 2011, 20:01
Location: NL, Canada

Re: cannot connect to internet using pppoe

Post by fraserp »

Yes, thank you. After I found out the IP address I entered that info in the pppoe-setup and now I am online. It took me awhile to find that out but finally it's working. Thanks for your time. All the best.
User avatar
thenktor
Salix Wizard
Posts: 2426
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 14:47
Location: Franconia
Contact:

Re: cannot connect to internet using pppoe

Post by thenktor »

caseycici wrote:What is pppoe?
PPP over Ethernet: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Point-to-P ... r_Ethernet
Used by many internet providers for DSL connections.
Image
burnCDDA (burns audio CDs)
geBIERt (German beer blog)
Post Reply