Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

If you have any suggestions or ideas about improving Salix, here's the place to post them.
Post Reply
User avatar
witek
Posts: 233
Joined: 16. Nov 2009, 13:41
Location: Poland.Łódź

Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

Post by witek » 26. Jun 2012, 20:36

Just a suggestion to replace LibreOffice with Apache-(formerly known as Open)-Office. Libre has a nasty regression I reported almost a year ago and it remains unfixed since release 3.3:
https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39327
I keep reminding them about it but no-one seems to care...

I recently replaced Libre Office with Apache Office 3.4 in Salix and it works well.

Adys
Posts: 156
Joined: 3. Apr 2012, 04:17

Re: Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

Post by Adys » 26. Jun 2012, 21:35

witek wrote:https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=39327
I keep reminding them about it but no-one seems to care...
Although you did receive some relevant replies there, it would probably be best (for LibreOffice) to follow the guide "How to report bugs to LibreOffice?" http://wiki.documentfoundation.org/BugReport.

User avatar
JRD
Salix Warrior
Posts: 949
Joined: 7. Jun 2009, 22:52
Location: Lyon, France

Re: Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

Post by JRD » 27. Jun 2012, 09:15

Actually, the actual version of LibreOffice is 3.5 and the next is 3.6. I'm currently using 3.6-beta because some folks at work seems to find that using .docx is a good idea ! But maybe I'll just install a 3.5 version too.
The package of LibreOffice by the LibreOffice team is awful, you can choose between a lot of .deb, or a lot of .rpm, nothing else. Well I downloaded the .rpm and converted them to .txz and installed them (it installed in /opt). Works good.

About LibreOffice vs ApacheOffice...well I must say that I prefer LibreOffice because they do a very good job, they have a foundation, talented developpers of OpenOffice have quite all moved to LibreOffice.
Image

User avatar
witek
Posts: 233
Joined: 16. Nov 2009, 13:41
Location: Poland.Łódź

Re: Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

Post by witek » 27. Jun 2012, 10:19

Adys wrote:Although you did receive some relevant replies there, it would probably be best (for LibreOffice) to follow the guide "How to report bugs to LibreOffice?" http://wiki.documentfoundation.org/BugReport.
I don`t think I understand correctly what you meant but it would probably be best (for any project) to follow the bugs reported and to try to solve them, especially if they are regressions: something worked then stopped.

User avatar
deja69
Posts: 89
Joined: 23. Apr 2012, 00:20

Re: Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

Post by deja69 » 27. Jun 2012, 14:11

<<[quote="JRD"]
The package of LibreOffice by the LibreOffice team is awful, you can choose between a lot of .deb, or a lot of .rpm, nothing else. Well I downloaded the .rpm and converted them to .txz and installed them (it installed in /opt). Works good.>>

From a long term perspective...is there any signs anyone is looking to develop the Scheme-based Siag Office Suite
http://siag.nu/ ,it appears to have not altered in 5 years.
It is by no means as feature rich as Libre,Open,Oxygen or Calligra Suites,but it does support XML,and it has native .tgz (very old) binaries...it would be especially suited to Salix's Ratpoison edition.

Shador
Posts: 1295
Joined: 11. Jun 2009, 14:04
Location: Bavaria

Re: Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

Post by Shador » 27. Jun 2012, 15:40

The scope of that issue seems rather limited. Given the importance this problem poses to you, you might want to collect additional information about that issue. Or you could try bisecting to find the actual culprit.
Image

Adys
Posts: 156
Joined: 3. Apr 2012, 04:17

Re: Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

Post by Adys » 27. Jun 2012, 16:21

witek wrote:I don`t think I understand correctly what you meant
Well, then I'll try to make it clearer with a different (intentionally "extreme") example.

***
EXAMPLE - BEGIN
***

If I find a bug in Thunar (Xfce file manager) while using Salix, I could report it here. Then I could try different versions of Thunar, and also try the same version but in other distros, opening forum topics in each respective site. I may receive some answers, even confirmation about the problem, and some developers very involved in those OS might even triple check that we are indeed talking about a regression bug.

But, the relevant developers of Thunar most probably won't know about it unless a bug report is filed at the adequate place. Such adequate place might even not be the Xfce forum, but their launchpad site.

Note: I, as a simple user, would expect such bug to be taken care if I open a topic in Xfce's forum, and would leave it for the developers to file the relevant bug report at launchpad. but that's just my personal position about it, and the developers might not care unless such bug report is open in their launchpad site with the exact tags.

***
EXAMPLE - END
***

So my point is that you might need to read the document I linked to, so to report the bug at the relevant site where it has more probability to be resolved.

I share your frustration. I just think of being more effective about the specific bug report.

macondo
Posts: 90
Joined: 16. Jun 2011, 02:08

Re: Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

Post by macondo » 29. Jun 2012, 13:32

deja69 wrote: From a long term perspective...is there any signs anyone is looking to develop the Scheme-based Siag Office Suite
http://siag.nu/ ,it appears to have not altered in 5 years.
It is by no means as feature rich as Libre,Open,Oxygen or Calligra Suites,but it does support XML,and it has native .tgz (very old) binaries...it would be especially suited to Salix's Ratpoison edition.
Unfortunately, the siag site is down :(

Leafpad is doing the job so far...

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5528
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Apache (Open) Office instead of Libre Office?

Post by gapan » 29. Jun 2012, 14:01

OK, let's say that we do the switch.

But, if I find a bug in Apache OpenOffice that hasn't been fixed in a while, do we then switch back to libreoffice?

First of all, this is only a single bug report. A single bug in a huge app like libreoffice is a drop in the ocean. And I certainly don't see any unwillingness to fix it. Have you considered that maybe nobody that has seen the bug knows how to fix it? If you can provide a fix, I'm 100% sure it will be accepted.

The fact is that most development has shifted to libreoffice and just about everyone is behind libreoffice now. OpenOffice is only going to lag behind more and more.

Decisions like which is going to be the default office suite are not to be taken lightly and certainly can't be changed due to a single bug.
Image
Image

Post Reply