[ solved ] /root and /home only ?

If you have any suggestions or ideas about improving Salix, here's the place to post them.
Post Reply
User avatar
windowsxp
Posts: 52
Joined: 23. Sep 2009, 18:43

[ solved ] /root and /home only ?

Post by windowsxp » 22. Nov 2012, 00:33

Hello ,

is it possible to have more of two partition ( /root and /home ) in the default installer of Salix OS ?

Thank .
Last edited by windowsxp on 29. Nov 2012, 15:03, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5528
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: /root and /home only ?

Post by gapan » 22. Nov 2012, 06:51

Maybe I don't understand what you're asking. No, it's impossible to have /root and /home partitions only. You at least need a / partition in any case. Where would everything else go otherwise?
Image
Image

User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3096
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: /root and /home only ?

Post by mimosa » 22. Nov 2012, 11:47

I think windowsxp means more THAN two, e.g. choose where to put /var , /usr, whatever.

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5528
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: /root and /home only ?

Post by gapan » 22. Nov 2012, 13:36

In that case, sure, as many as you like.
Image
Image

User avatar
windowsxp
Posts: 52
Joined: 23. Sep 2009, 18:43

Re: /root and /home only ?

Post by windowsxp » 23. Nov 2012, 01:56

Hi ,

in the default installer i can do only /root and /home ( i don' t use swap ) no ?

I want do :

/root
/home
/usr
/var
/tmp

Etc ...

I do a mistake so ?

User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3096
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: /root and /home only ?

Post by mimosa » 23. Nov 2012, 02:08

As far as I remember the installer asks if you would like to mont anything else to another partition; and effectively, you can mount anything you like.

User avatar
windowsxp
Posts: 52
Joined: 23. Sep 2009, 18:43

Re: /root and /home only ?

Post by windowsxp » 23. Nov 2012, 02:15

HI ,

ok i test that with the RC3 .

I can do only /root /home and swap ( i don't use ) in my memory .

I do a mistake , i think ???

User avatar
mimosa
Salix Warrior
Posts: 3096
Joined: 25. May 2010, 17:02
Contact:

Re: /root and /home only ?

Post by mimosa » 23. Nov 2012, 02:30

You do need to have the partitions available. You can create them with cfdisk (an early stage in the installer) but you may prefer to use Gparted or similar from a live cd or another linux before starting the actual installation.

At some point you should be asked whether you want to mount anything else (such as /home) to a partition. If you don't have the free partitions, maybe that doesn't happen.

User avatar
windowsxp
Posts: 52
Joined: 23. Sep 2009, 18:43

Re: /root and /home only ?

Post by windowsxp » 24. Nov 2012, 09:03

Hi ,

ok i said : " n 'importe quoi" .

It 's all right now .

Post Reply