Slackware based Linux distributions suitable for beginners?

Talk about other linux distributions, or even other OSes.
niculinux

Slackware based Linux distributions suitable for beginners?

Post by niculinux »

Hello :)

The name's niculinux. I'm new to linux, but somewath eager to learn more about it... :lol:

sO, AFAIK Salix OS is the only slackware based linux distro that is even suitable fro newcomers, I tryied today in a brief live session, the 64 bit xfce version, latest salix avaiable.

I would kindly ask a question:

Are you aware of other Slackware based Linux distribution suitable for begginners?

as far as I can tell I saw the some "friendly" distro may be:

1) Salix OS :mrgreen:
2) Vector linux
3) Zenwalk linux

what can you tell me about these? And are out there some oher slack based "made easy"

Thank, even only for reading :)
Last edited by niculinux on 23. Feb 2012, 13:25, edited 1 time in total.
nosaku

Re: Slackware based Linux distributions suitable for beginne

Post by nosaku »

Salix OS, Vector Linux, and Zenwalk are all based on Slackware. I did not try the others but Salix OS is the one I am using and I think it is the purest Slackware based distribution with some nice artwork. It is also fully backwards compatible with Slackware. One thing I like a lot about Salix OS is the gslapt package manager which can install/upgrade the packages along with dependencies. So if you are looking for a pure Slackware based distribution but which is much easier to install and update, Salix OS is the right candidate.
niculinux

Post by niculinux »