[Solved] Pulseaudio with multi media players

You think you have found a bug? Let us know about it.
maspai

[Solved] Pulseaudio with multi media players

Post by maspai »

I have audacious and smplayer installed. Both can't play together, so I installed pulseaudio in sourcery for no avail. In ubuntu with pulseaudio installed, I could configure the 2 players to use pulseaudio and they played well together.
However, I prefer alsa if possible to solve this. Thanks.
Last edited by maspai on 11. Mar 2014, 05:26, edited 1 time in total.
sorry for my noob-ness guys, i'm new in linux and salix.
gapan
Salix Wizard

Re: Pulseaudio with multi media players

Post by gapan »

You don't need pulseaudio for that. You only need to set each application to output to alsa. Pulseaudio after all these years, still sucks.
maspai

Post by maspai »

gapan wrote:You don't need pulseaudio for that. You only need to set each application to output to alsa. Pulseaudio after all these years, still sucks.
I installed also gnome-mplayer just to compare. No sound at all (I tried in gnome-mplayer) if I choose alsa as output driver, while choosing the card directly (Direct ALSA Control) works but of course playing audacious shows error message

Code: Select all

ALSA error: snd_mixer_find_selem failed.
ALSA error: snd_pcm_open failed: Device or resource busy.
Doing this in reverse results the same (close gnome-mplayer and audacious plays well, next opened gnome-mplayer outputs no sound, even after selecting PulseAudio option in gnome-mplayer preference window).
Weird thing for me is this worked in major distros I tried (ubuntu, debian, fedora). :?
gapan
Salix Wizard

Post by gapan »