New Linux User - Enjoying Salix :)

Introduce yourself, create test postings or talk nonsense
neRok

New Linux User - Enjoying Salix :)

Post by neRok »

hi all, just thought i would introduce myself as i will be hovering around here fairly often, trying to suss things out.

i am just starting out with linux, so its a real head f***, but im getting there.
i have been using windows for many years, mostly XP. i am fairly knowledgable on windows and can do things like make batch files, edit the registry, set up domains, made my own awesome n-lite disc etc, so fairly advanced stuff. i had always been interested in linux but never tried it, until i decided to build a htpc and read that MythTV was the go. so thats when i decided to try out linux.

i started with ubuntu, as im sure most converts do. it was easy to use and did a lot, but i didnt like the way it looked and felt (as in the desktop environment). so i tried out kubuntu but didnt like it either. Then i tried xubuntu and that was the one for me (sounds like goldylocks story lol). Xfce is defintely a great desktop, plus its 'light' compared to the others which is a bonus.

I had a few grievences with xubuntu but, just little things that gave me shits, and when i went to play ut2004 and i couldnt jump and run at the same time, i thought i might try a different distribution. i read that ubuntu was based on 'unstable' debian, so i gave debian 'stable' a try with the xfce desktop, but it seemed a bit hard.

So when i was searching the net for other xfce distributions, i found Salix. I gotta say, its a winner imo! install was quick and easy and it does all the essential straight away. one thing that annoyed me with other o/s was having to install the flash plugins for youtube etc, but salix already works. i also really like the theme and the colours with the full install, and the way the 'taskbar' is setup is just the way i like it (for bottom dwelling bars anyway).