Trouble with Updates (MD5 checksum mismatch) [Solved]

You have a problem with Salix? Post here and we'll do what we can to help.
Post Reply
GeBruns
Donor
Posts: 17
Joined: 9. Jan 2016, 22:26
Location: Northern Germany

Trouble with Updates (MD5 checksum mismatch) [Solved]

Post by GeBruns » 3. Sep 2018, 22:58

I've got a problem with the mirrors used by Salix to serve software and updates. Recently, I installed three machines with Salix and made the same experience in all cases. This is what I did with the first two machines:

When I finished installation I attempted to install updates. But every time I got this error:
"Failed to download: MD5 checksum mismatch, override with --no-md5".

Then, I changed the mirror and did:

Code: Select all

sudo slapt-get --clean

Code: Select all

sudo slapt-get -u

Code: Select all

sudo slapt-get --upgrade
But the error occurred again. One by one, I tried other mirrors and used the three slapt-get commands from above:

http://salix.enialis.net
http://download.salixos.org
http://ftp.nluug.nl/os/Linux/distr/salix
http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/download.salixos.org
http://salix.mirror.garr.it/mirrors/salix
http://slackware.uk/salix
http://ftp.heanet.ie/pub/salix
http://mirror.inode.at/salix
http://mirrors.xmission.com/salix

And some of those mirrors I tried even two or three times.

And at the end I tried the greek mirror, too. That is http://ftp.cc.uoc.gr/mirrors/linux/salix. With the greek mirror everything went fine on both machines.

On the third machine I wanted to install Salix on, I did something else after installation:

My machines were behind a proxy (using IPFire). But that was the case with the former machines, too. So, that shouldn't be the reason, right? At first, for a test, I switched off the proxy and made a reset on all network devices (IPFire, internet router, switch etc).

Secondly, I tried again to install the updates using the list of mirrors from above. In all cases the error came up again. Only with the greek mirror I didn't get the error. So, using the greek mirror I could successfully install all updates.

After re-activating the proxy, I downloaded a Linux installation image and checked the md5sum. I thought if there were some data corruption I would see a md5sum mismatch. But there was no mismatch with the ISO.

So, what's the reason? Is there something wrong?
Last edited by GeBruns on 14. Sep 2018, 21:18, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5406
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Trouble with Updates (MD5 checksum mismatch)

Post by gapan » 4. Sep 2018, 06:12

Is there a specific package you get that error with?
Image
Image

GeBruns
Donor
Posts: 17
Joined: 9. Jan 2016, 22:26
Location: Northern Germany

Re: Trouble with Updates (MD5 checksum mismatch)

Post by GeBruns » 4. Sep 2018, 06:41

Well, for these fresh installs there were 88 updates available. In most cases the error occurred with 'NetworkManager 1.2.6-x86_64-1gv' (package 1/88).

In rare cases I got the error with 'bash 4.3.048-x86_64-1_slack14.2' (package 3/88) using http://www.mirrorservice.org/sites/download.salixos.org or http://ftp.heanet.ie/pub/salix or 'gcc 5.5.0-x86_64-1_slack14.2' (package 15/88) using http://salix.enialis.net.

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5406
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Trouble with Updates (MD5 checksum mismatch)

Post by gapan » 4. Sep 2018, 06:46

I just checked the md5sum of those packages on some of the servers you mentioned and they are OK. So, it's probably something with your proxy.
Image
Image

GeBruns
Donor
Posts: 17
Joined: 9. Jan 2016, 22:26
Location: Northern Germany

Re: Trouble with Updates (MD5 checksum mismatch)

Post by GeBruns » 9. Sep 2018, 21:23

I did some further tests by installing Salix on a virtual machine and using snap shots.

And yes, the proxy is the reason for the error message. That's the clear result.

I'm not an expert for network configuration. And until now I could not find a way to configure IPFire with the proxy to allow Salix to be updated successfully. Only when I connect the Salix machine directly to the internet router and thus fully remove the proxy from my network the updates are running fine without any errors when using the other mirrors mentioned above.

But there is one exception:
The greek mirror works fine with the proxy, too. I did several tests and each time without any error! Can anybody explain that?

I don't want to abandon my proxy. And I don't want to rely on just one mirror to be available. So, I would like to use the other mirrors together with my proxy either using a smart confiuration or by some kind of workaround.

Any ideas?

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5406
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Trouble with Updates (MD5 checksum mismatch)

Post by gapan » 10. Sep 2018, 12:34

I'm not sure why it works with the greek mirror. How are you setting the proxy? Did you follow the instructions in the slapt-get FAQ?
http://software.jaos.org/git/slapt-get/plain/FAQ

In any case, you could keep using the greek mirror if everything else fails.
Image
Image

GeBruns
Donor
Posts: 17
Joined: 9. Jan 2016, 22:26
Location: Northern Germany

Re: Trouble with Updates (MD5 checksum mismatch)

Post by GeBruns » 14. Sep 2018, 21:14

Thank you for the link to the slapt-get FAQ, gapan. It contained the solution at question no. 24.

I can successfully install updates using the proxy when I do

Code: Select all

sudo http_proxy=http://[IP of proxy]:[port] slapt-get --update
and

Code: Select all

sudo http_proxy=http://[IP of proxy]:[port] slapt-get --upgrade
I've put an additional launcher for Gslapt to my panel (or desktop) and modified the command from

Code: Select all

gksu /usr/sbin/gslapt
to

Code: Select all

gksu http_proxy=http://[IP of proxy]:[port] /usr/sbin/gslapt
And I did that for Sourcery, too.

Now, I can use any mirror without getting the error (MD5 checksum mismatch).

User avatar
gapan
Salix Wizard
Posts: 5406
Joined: 6. Jun 2009, 17:40

Re: Trouble with Updates (MD5 checksum mismatch) [Solved]

Post by gapan » 14. Sep 2018, 21:56

You could also export the http_proxy variable in your ~/.profile, or systemwide in an executable script in /etc/profile.d/, and you won't need additional launchers.
Image
Image

Post Reply