Cheers from a Devuan User

Introduce yourself, create test postings or talk nonsense
brocashelm

Cheers from a Devuan User

Post by brocashelm »

I've been using GNU/Linux since at least 2011 (starting with an old Ubuntu DVD I got in the mail, having been fed up with Windows 7 "updates" already), but never took it seriously enough to make the jump until 2015, and then 2017 to completely replace Windows. At some point, I didn't like what Ubuntu was "offering" its users, so I sought another distro... I found GNU/Linux Mint, which I really liked at first, having used its Xfce edition extensively for two straight years. After getting fed up with the whole Systemd thing, my next best plan was to switch over to Devuan, a really stable, Systemd-free version of Debian with (in my opinion) better defaults. I've been using it straight-up since then, having my needs completely met, and then some.

Now, I've also tried other distros, namely the likes of Arch GNU/Linux, Artix GNU/Linux, Manjaro, antiX, MX GNU/Linux, Void GNU/Linux, Gentoo, etc., only to find that those distros were missing something for me. Well, my distrohopping days are long gone, having fully settled on Devuan, although I've been curious about Slackware and its claims of stability, although I found it to be too archaic for my own needs, and package management not having some sort of dependency checks pretty much put me off from pursuing it.

That's when I realized that Salix exists, and it's basically a more user-friendly version of Slackware, featuring the Apt-like frontend to its package manager. I mainly tried it on a VM for a while, trying to understand the ins and outs of the distro. Having been used to Debian-based distros for far too long, I was in for a surprise. I finally decided to install Salix on a brand new Dell laptop that I got, and it's running superbly fast and lightweight, even with GTK3 having taken over and Xfce not being as lightweight as it once was as a result.