Installation problem

You have a problem with Salix? Post here and we'll do what we can to help.
mzoro

Installation problem

Post by mzoro »

Hello,

I am a programmer coming from the Windows world, hence knowing very few about the Linux world.
I tried again and again to install Salix in an exterior disk, without success.
I describe here some aspects of my attempts that I think are the most possible sources of failure.

First, my Desktop computer is x64.
I downloaded this version of Salix iso file: https://sourceforge.net/projects/salix/ ... o/download
and burnt it to a DVD disk.

The PC already has two internal disks containing windows 7 and folders, and I wished to install Salix on an exterior disk.
So I connected an exterior 1 TB disk with an USB adaptor and started the computer with the DVD inside.

This stated up the Salix installation. I describe here only the main options I configured, which I suspect something may be wrong; the other options seem to be unimportant for the problem.
I configured the exterior disk ("sdc") as:
sdc1: 30 GB, linux partition, bootable, write the partition table to the disk;
sdc2: 12 GB, linux swap partition, write the partition table to the disk;
sdc3: rest of the disk, linux partition, write the partition table to the disk.

Then they asked me about format: I configured
sdc1: / , ext4
sdc2: /swap
sdc3: /home, ext4

Then I chosen the full installation, which ended properly.

Then they asked me about Lilo and I chosen the first option (I don't remember the name, "super root" or something like this, they said this may demand some further work with sfscan).
Thus Lilo was installed successfully.
After creating one user account, and some unimportant things, they asked me to reboot and I did that.

When the system rebooted, Lilo offered me to chose "Linux" and I typed "Enter".
Then after doing "things" successfully, Lilo (or Salix) suddenly entered in a so-called "panic" and wrote finally :