Hello all...

Introduce yourself, create test postings or talk nonsense
rhtoras

Hello all...

Post by rhtoras »

Hello my friends. New to Salix os. I am a devuan and void user. I also use openbsd. I have 3 computers you see. I am new to development but already 5-6 years on linux. I installed Salix because it does not use systemD alhough it uses elogind and some components are present i.e gvfs. It seems a nice distro till now. I made an xfce theme mod to use in salix colours. The thing i had is gui installer could not let me install it whatever i did so i downloaded the text iso which btw is quite big and although it uses xfce this uses 820 mb/ram which i find too much compared to void xfce that only consumes 240-250 mb ram. I used to be xfce guy but nowdays i prefer lumina or icewm/fluxbox and so on. I can see why you chose xfce altough it's big. What i would like to do is to replace sysVinit with openrc where i saw it is possible. I think openrc is easier and more complete than sysVinit for the common tasks we do everyday and os even boots fatser when parallel boot is enabled. I installed some software i use although there was one particular that isn't available IDLE. When i type IDLE on terminal it says

Code: Select all

** IDLE can't import Tkinter.
Your Python may not be configured for Tk. **
and also there is something strange. When i type python --version it shows python 2 while on other distros show python3.

Any tips to do after installation are wellcome also what and when i have to update my os.
Thanks!
gapan
Salix Wizard

Re: Hello all...

Post by gapan »

You need to install the tk and tcl packages.